Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 04:55 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default ASUS Are at it again!

Welcome to Republic Of Gamers! - Blog

I can't even imagine how their gonna power it, let alone COOL IT!
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 05:36 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

'motherboard and or psu fryer' ? :)

+


good god!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 05:50 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

At least some nuclear reactor are back in fonction here in canada so we can power at least one of these XD
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 06:44 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

it prob can only be used above the arctic circle
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 06:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

now now, watercooled, could one fill up one of these?







will the mobo fry itself upon first power up? ho many 1500 watt psus will one need? questions only maddness could answer.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 06:55 PM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 542

My System Specs

Default

That is going to be a monster of a card. You may not have been able to cook an egg on the factory 480, but this.... :D
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 06:57 PM
Keltron 3030's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mt. Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 621

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeKnight View Post
That is going to be a monster of a card. You may not have been able to cook an egg on the factory 480, but this.... :D
you could cook a full english on it
__________________
FFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUU-
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 07:33 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,910

My System Specs

Default

Might as well use a full 24pin ATX power connector on there!

I have no idea how this card is going to operate though, unless its downclocked a ton. Otherwise it has to come with one of those all-in-one watercooling setups. Otherwise it'll take up all your slots with heatsinks and fans
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 07:45 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

btw : 'Three eight-pin PCIe connectors provide enough juice - to the tune of 450W-plus'

how much current can safely go thru one 8 pin connector/cable thing? i thought it was more like 200 watts. because this bad boy will need it.

ok, there should be some power saved vs dual cards but still. im expecting something like close to 600 watts furmarked.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 07:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Maybe Silk will be satisfied with this.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS p6x58D Premium versus Asus Rampage Extreme III Timid newbe New Builds 2 August 17, 2010 01:09 PM
Using ASUS p6x58D Premium or ASUS ROG in Crossfire Timid newbe New Builds 1 August 15, 2010 01:06 AM
Asus Launches ASUS VG236H 3D Ready 23" LCD FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 July 19, 2010 02:48 PM
Installing SSD & W7 (Using Asus Recovery Disc) On Asus G51J Notebooks rjbarker Mobile Computing 0 February 19, 2010 11:36 AM
Asus Rampage II GENE vs Asus P6T Deluxe V2..which one? Rocco_360 New Builds 3 April 4, 2009 08:29 PM