Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 05:20 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

how many units did you guys have experience with? dont remember who the oem's were, but inbetween the pile of crop there were solid units. and when i say solid i mean 5-6 years later still ticking strong loaded on a daily basis :)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 05:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Just because a PSU lasts several years does not make it a quality unit. There are numerous examples of cheap and crappy PSUs that still work, but there is still plenty of potential for those units to fail and cause damage. Apevia does not sell any PSUs that are remotely deserving of being called quality products.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 05:36 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I am in the computer world for over6 years and I remember how apevia was popular a long time ago, but can't remember any GOOD or oustanding unit from them.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 06:13 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
I am in the computer world for over6 years and I remember how apevia was popular a long time ago, but can't remember any GOOD or oustanding unit from them.
It's hard to remember something that never existed.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 06:48 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
It's hard to remember something that never existed.
Ho that's a direct hit in the teeth my friend XD
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 08:59 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
It's hard to remember something that never existed.
ZING!

Hit that one dead on the head.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 01:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5
Default

Ok so here's what I did. I began taking the rig apart piece-by-piece AFTER I go and buy a brand new zotac Geforce GTX 460 SLI OC video card (paid 229.00) thinking that since the fan on my old nvidia gtx 275 isn't running, it must be a bad video card right? Do you f'ing believe one of my memory sticks was out of place? I got 6 gigs and one of the sticks had come lose causing the unexpected shutdowns. As soon as I pushed the thing in the old video card started working again, which means the video is back, and my 750W PSU works like a champ. I know memory the heart of hardware resource allocation but this is friggn ridiculous. I'm going to keep the GTX 460 and the PSU for future upgrades.

Hope this helps somebody!

Cya
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 01:54 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

looking good. so what happened with the apevia?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 02:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5
Default

Honestly its working like a champ. I replaced the 750w with the Apevia 1100W and it really looks and feels solid man. I've had other enermax products that didn't have the look and feel of this one even though the performance was top notch. The Apevia is whisper quiet, the internal components and housing appear generally well made. It was a breeze to install and the damn thing even has a button you can push to change colors to suit your rigs color scheme.
I don't claim to be a PSU expert but the reviews I read on this unit were superb! Have a look urself.

Apevia ATX-WA1100W Warlock 1100-Watt ATX Power Supply - SLI and Crossfire Ready, 135mm Fan, Clear Sides at TigerDirect.com

So far...im satisfied.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 02:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

nice. would you mind giving us the ul number on the back, really curious who made it.
thanks man
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] FS: Apevia XQ Pack Case w/ small extra's azn_outlaw Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 1, 2009 07:55 AM
Apevia X-QPack 2 mATX Case Review Hardware Canucks Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 22, 2008 01:31 PM
Can u fit a 3870 x2 in a Apevia X-QPACK2-BK/500 supernode Video Cards 1 March 7, 2008 05:56 PM
Guru3D reviews 1100W Tagan TG1100-U95 TurboJet PSU Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 January 10, 2007 06:01 PM