Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2010, 09:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hmm...do use advmethods and check again.

once again, both gpu cores are always 100%, and you do not see usage drop,go back up,drop again? it's very important. some wu's do that, annoys me like heck. of course ppd suffers like mad.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2010, 11:01 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Assuming lowfats suggestion has been done, set both your tray clients to 'slightly higher' use so the CPU doesnt steal GPU data time.

Also, be aware that if you plan on running -advmethods on both GPUS it will eat up alot of SMP time and your PPD will likely go down.
Ya, I`m pretty sure what going on here is that the GPU clients aren`t getting enough CPU cycles. When I was actually GPU folding on my rig(curse you ATI! err... AMD err.. Pande Lab; whoever`s to blame), I would usually set my GPU clients to Realtime priority since they don`t eat up that much for CPU cycles but when they need it they`ll get it. Or at least set it to High. If you`re not sure how to do that, Open Task Manager > right click on the F@H GPU application > Click go to process > Right click process, set priority.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2010, 05:55 AM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Hi all,

"But didn't you say you just installed the second GTX460 yesterday? So you would have needed to download the new GPU3 client and re add all the flags.
You have the GPU3 client installed for both of them correct?"
I have both running the new GPU3 and the flags are set correctly.

"hmm...do use advmethods and check again."
I have tried running with -advmethods and without, no difference in ppd. I have also tried running without SMP and no difference, to speak of.

I am about to take one of the two GTX 260s that are in my wife's system and put one GTX 460 and one GTX 260 in each system and not worry about running two GPU3s together. That should stop the issue and put the ppd back up to the 40k area.

Take care......
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2010, 10:35 AM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tobin Lake, SK
Posts: 303

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried hitting the computer?
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 04:08 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Hi all,

Are we out of GOOD ideas?

By the way, trying method from my last post did not work any better either.

Take care.........
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 04:23 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Full system specs? Are these two 460s the only GPUs you have in that machine? This may sound a little silly, but I"m going to ask you to completely remove your clients and set up new ones based on the following instructions:

1. Download the client from this link: http://www.stanford.edu/~friedrim/.Folding@home-Win32-GPU_Vista-631.zip or from here if you're still using XP: http://www.stanford.edu/~friedrim/.Folding@home-Win32-GPU_XP-631.zip

2. Make a new folder for each client you want to use, and stick them in the root directory of whichever drive you want to put them on. Extract the client into each of the folders.

3. Make a shortcut to the F@H executable in each of the folders and stick them on your desktop or wherever you want to keep them.

4. Run each of the clients and configure them with your info.

5. Go into the properties for each of the shortcuts and add the following flags to the end of the target box (assuming you are only using these two GPUs in your system):
Code:
-gpu 0 -forcegpu nvidia_fermi -advmethods
-gpu 1 -forcegpu nvidia_fermi -advmethods
6. Start up both clients with the shortcuts. You'll probably want to copy them both into your startup folder as well.

Run them for a while and see if you get normal production out of them. If not, then we'll try playing around with some affinity changer programs and see if that does the trick.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 05:09 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Hi Zach,

Thanx for the reply!!

Just one thought, the single GTX 460 is producing 13,779.13 ppd.

I will try your suggestions and let you know what happens.

Again, thanx for the reply.

Take care..........
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 06:34 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Hi Zach,

You da MAN!!

I am around 46k ppd now for my two systems, so what you said worked perfectly!

I am again grateful to you!!

Take care, and again many thanx for the help.............

PS: Many thanx for the others who helped also.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *

Last edited by lechumbl; September 30, 2010 at 06:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 08:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Your SMP clients are looking a little low.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2010, 08:31 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Hi Zach,

Is that your next project?

Take care........
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gtx 460 or 2 4850 or 2 gtx 260 sempifer Video Cards 14 August 29, 2010 01:18 PM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 1GB & GTX 460 768MB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 126 August 20, 2010 10:01 AM
ATi 4850 512mb cards vs GTX 460 1Gig Card 2di4u Video Cards 5 August 8, 2010 12:00 PM