Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2010, 02:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Langley
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default MSI RMA experience?

Does anyone have any experience with MSI's Canadian RMA department?
I RMA'd my videocard after having having constant vertical bars, Now i'm wondering how fast there RMA department is? It still says in processing.

The card I RMA'd is this one: MSI USA ? Computer, Laptop, Notebook, Desktop, Mainboard, Graphics and more
It seems they don't carry it anymore, not quite sure what they can do now.

I'm just a little puzzled by the lack of information provided by MSI, I just want to know if anyone has been in a similar situation.

Thanks,
Kurtis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2010, 02:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

A few years back MSI RMA used to be notoriously horrific, to the point that I haven't bought a single MSI product in 4 years and the company I worked for at the time stocked a lot less of their product. But the past year or so I've been hearing a lot of good things about them, you should be fine. They might have ran out of stock on that one, but just sit back and relax, these things can take a while to process. If the card is out of stock, they'll probably just offer you another 5770 model.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2010, 02:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Langley
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

Ok, sweet,
I'll just wait and see what will happen.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2010, 02:29 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Make sure to report back in this thread KnightofAwesome!!!
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2010, 02:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Langley
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
Make sure to report back in this thread KnightofAwesome!!!

Sure will, It's best to be kept well informed of a company's RMA department. Rebate departments, not so much

I'll give them a call sometime next week, Although there aren't any calling hours currently posted on the website.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 03:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Langley
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

Ok, a bit of an update.

I got an email yesterday, take a look:

Quote:
Dear Kurtis,

In regards to RMA# RRxxxxxxxx, could you kindly provide me your proof of purchase.

RMA# RRxxxxxxxx
Model# R5770-PM2D1G-OC/Seaweed



If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Thanks in advance!
He also called me, thankfully, So i emailed my proof of purchase. Now apparently, I'll be sent a check. That baffles me, what would be a chance that i would get a full refund? Afterall they are the manufacture not the reseller. Now i'm not quite sure this is set in stone.

What do you guys think?
Kurtis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 04:03 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

wait hold on a sec? instead of an rma you get money back? something is so seriously messed up with the board you got that theyre paying cold hard cash to get it off the streets? :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 04:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Richmond
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default

hm, I RMAed 4890 few months ago and they didn't ask for proof of purchase
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 07:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Langley
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by importpsycho View Post
hm, I RMAed 4890 few months ago and they didn't ask for proof of purchase
Did they have your model in stock at the time?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2010, 09:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Richmond
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightOfAwesome View Post
Did they have your model in stock at the time?
yea, took me like 3~4weeks to get it back
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canadian RMA Experience Cheator Troubleshooting 231 March 26, 2014 08:10 PM
Your experience with Gigabytes RMA policy and performance? Gigabyte is a go! feerof CPU's and Motherboards 13 May 5, 2010 10:07 PM
Disappointing XFX RMA experience Vhlad Video Cards 31 December 23, 2009 05:44 PM
My experience with A$US RMA Brian Off Topic 21 January 30, 2009 04:33 AM
Another rma experience thread anabioz CPU's and Motherboards 36 December 17, 2008 08:59 PM