Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 09:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Default

I'm a greenhorn at doing this stuff. I still don't get the tutorials. I know how to get to BIOS, after that i know nothing. But someone from another forum said i should get 1 GB version to get more AA out of games to reduce bottlenecking.

Edit: Read from another forum. It says chucks rule, do not overclock if you cant afford to replace it if anything goes bad. I cant afford a new CPU, and my CPU is already obsolete.

Last edited by areszues92; September 19, 2010 at 09:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 10:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,485

My System Specs

Default

Dumb rule. You'd have to do something amazingly stupid to kill your hardware. There are lots of members here who would be more than willing to help you get a safe, stable overclock.

Getting past the initial "fear" of overclocking is the biggest step. After that, it's all downhill.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2010, 11:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Default

how about the 1 GB vs 768 MB GTX 460, which is best for my system.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 10:08 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,485

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by areszues92 View Post
how about the 1 GB vs 768 MB GTX 460, which is best for my system.
768MB, considering you're @ 1440x900.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 06:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Default

All right, I'll buy the GTX 460 768 MB first.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 05:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Default

Are there any benchmark for Intel core 2 duo and a gtx 460?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 07:08 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada Eh
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

The best way i know of to reduce bottlenecking is at the build stage when you pick your components, and sometimes that means knowing if your going to overclock up front and picking components with that in mind. There will always be one item i.e. Motherboard, CPU, GPU etc.. that will be the overall bottleneck to the system however you can reduce the impact as much as possible with proper planning. Based on your current Spec, resolution etc.. the 768MB 460 was a good choice/suggestion unless you want some wiggle room for the future.
__________________
Cheers; Snarl

Another Guy From Canada
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 07:18 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

There is probably no bench since most site use recent ( and overkill ) hardware to make their benchmark. But, if you are over a E7300 I am sure there will be no bottleneck. In the worst case, OC time :) Can you tell us what is your complete system?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 07:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 22
Default

Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
2 GB DDR2 667 mhz
P5K-SE mobo
ASUS 8600 GT 512 MB DDR2
320 GB HDD
19 inch HP monitor
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2010, 08:16 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Ok so, your CPU will probably bottleneck a LITTLE bit but nothing dramatic. Your screen also helo you in that. Since you play at low res you will notice no difference. IMO, as long as you stay with this screen, there is no need to change anything and the 460 will work fine ;)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BottleNecking? Chromey Video Cards 10 April 6, 2009 05:36 PM
i7 Build help reduce $ without loss k4kman New Builds 10 March 11, 2009 12:57 PM
Does overclocking reduce product life? triumph Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 July 27, 2008 08:26 AM
Memory Makers to Reduce Supply? MpG Press Releases & Tech News 7 December 12, 2007 08:36 PM
What do you suppose is bottlenecking this PC? LookAQuesadilla Troubleshooting 14 April 30, 2007 09:16 AM