Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 10:52 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,101

My System Specs

Default Older SLI Bridge O.K?

I received my new Area 51 with Nvidia cards this time. Dell installed them using the standard short bridge. I need to separate them but the only longer bridge I have is one I used with two GTX 280s a while ago. Will that bridge work with two 480 GTXs? I don't want to experiment and maybe screw it all up. Thanks for any input.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 10:58 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,139

My System Specs

Default

There's only one version of the SLI bridge. Any one should work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 10:59 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,101

My System Specs

Default

Thanks. Here I go.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 01:07 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

- Flexible
- Stiff for Sli
- Stiff for Tri Sli
- Stiff for Quad Sli

Any one of the above will work fine, just remember when installing the 2 x Sli Bridge to get it on the right connectors (closest to the GPU exhaust)....I use the stiff Tri Sli Bridge ;) ....for aesthetics (sp).....and in reality, thier has beenno need for the Bridge fof sometime.....slight increase Benching only....cannot remember which Driver version did away with te Sli Bridge, quite a long time ago..could have been 18x.xx
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2010, 01:45 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i take it for higher resolutions its a good idea to leave it on? :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 08:38 AM
Technokat's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 517

My System Specs

Default

i was debating doing the same thing, to seperate my 480's out a bit for cool runninz :)
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 10:23 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
i was debating doing the same thing, to seperate my 480's out a bit for cool runninz :)
You mean you run your 480's right next to each other?...as in no empty PCI-E slot between them? .......why? let em "breathe"....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 12:05 PM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,101

My System Specs

Default

I have two bridges that are the long ones. I read that using two bridges is pointless as there is no difference than using only one.Is this correct? Should I use both bridges?
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 12:12 PM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,101

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technokat View Post
i was debating doing the same thing, to seperate my 480's out a bit for cool runninz :)
You may not be able to leave the video card shroud on once you separate the cards. There is a lip at the bottom that will not slide past ypur cards.Leaving the door off is better anyway but the lip at the bottom can easily be cut to allow putting the door back on if you wish. I did that with my last Area 51 and all was O.K. You need a good spin cutter and a steady hand. [Gotta say, I'm glad I went back to Nvidia.]
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2010, 09:18 PM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,101

My System Specs

Default

As posted above, I'm surprised no one has advice. Is it better to use two bridges? Any performance benefit? When I had ATI cards,I remember reading that there was no benefit. Is that true for Nvidia as well? Surely someone here knows. Technokat? You have the Alienware with Nvidia,What do you use? Thanks all.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jittering game play = broken sli bridge? 0o0 Troubleshooting 18 July 1, 2010 08:25 PM
[WTB] Triple SLI Bridge CroSsFiRe2009 Buy/Sell & Trade 2 June 29, 2010 03:23 PM
[WTB] SLI Bridge CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 12 September 8, 2009 06:15 AM
[WTB] Sli Bridge for a EVGA 780i 7oPd4wG Buy/Sell & Trade 5 March 19, 2009 08:16 PM
Tri SLI, Quad SLI, SLI comparisons with 9800GTS, GX2 Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 3 March 31, 2008 03:32 PM