Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2010, 07:47 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default Can the BIOS on a 5870, pulled from a Dell, be flashed?

Hello everyone,

I have a 5870 that was pulled from a Dell and, I was wondering if the card will allow to be flashed with another BIOS.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2010, 07:52 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

If it's reference, I'm pretty sure it can be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2010, 07:53 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

although i wouldnt bork it if it works. i think the quad father had some issues, but that was a 5970
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 03:01 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 628

My System Specs

Default

If it's reference, then there's no reason why not. If it is non reference.... then things get sketchy. Especially with the likes of Dell.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 03:20 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

which reminds my good luck with dell 6800gt's back in the day. you have to track down the oem, and flash it to their bios, again if you have to flash it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 08:27 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kommie986 View Post
If it's reference, I'm pretty sure it can be.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
although i wouldnt bork it if it works. i think the quad father had some issues, but that was a 5970
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustin1706 View Post
If it's reference, then there's no reason why not. If it is non reference.... then things get sketchy. Especially with the likes of Dell.

Thanks guys.

It's supposed to be a reference card and, it works fine. I just wanna see what kind of OC's it is capable of.

Anyone know for sure if Dell OEM 5870's are reference models for sure?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 08:33 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

track down the oem..wait i think i said it already :p

look one of your other cards or buds cards and if they match to the lsightest bit? give it a try. hell, what do you have to lose anyway? just 350 down the drain :p
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 08:40 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
track down the oem..wait i think i said it already :p

look one of your other cards or buds cards and if they match to the lsightest bit? give it a try. hell, what do you have to lose anyway? just 350 down the drain :p
Dan, what do you mean by "track down the OEM"?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 08:46 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

what do the stickers say? google it up. or in the bios, perhaps? 1002 is ati, and so on.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2010, 09:00 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Dan.

Thanks to GPU-Z, Device ID = 1002-6898 and Subvendor = ATI (1002)

6898 is on AMD's list. Does that make it a reference card?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5870 Bios Flash RBA Video Cards 8 January 25, 2011 09:44 AM
[FS] Sapphire HD 5870 flashed to unlocked bios Arinoth Buy/Sell & Trade 9 October 7, 2010 06:17 AM
5870 Displayport to DVI, non Dell Working! TeeJayPee Video Cards 6 November 12, 2009 02:20 PM
Pulled the trigger! ricknash61 New Builds 9 August 20, 2008 08:38 PM
Flashed My BIOS, someone please take a look! bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 October 9, 2007 04:55 PM