Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 11:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 25
Default Can a 620W PSU run gtx 470?

Hey HWC
I'm upgrading my graphics card and i'm wondering can a 620W PSU run Gtx 470

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 11:13 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 1,960

My System Specs

Default

post a system spec you will get better advice :)
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2010, 11:20 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Yes.

See power consumption graph here: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470 Review
Max of 354 watts on an overclocked i7 system. IIRC Nvidia recommends a 550w PSU minimum.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 06:54 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,601

My System Specs

Default

yes....if its a quality PSU you will have no problem. Even a cheap 620w should run it, but I would not risk a 470 on a junk PSU.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 08:41 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I'm surprised that nobody has asked the obvious question yet, but which 620W PSU is this?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 08:50 AM
paphman910's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
I'm surprised that nobody has asked the obvious question yet, but which 620W PSU is this?
Hopefully they are referring to the Cosair HX620 Power supply! It is a quality built power supply by Seasonic.

Paphman910
__________________
Paphman910:
(PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610) (Asus P5K-E/WiFi-AP) (Xeon E3110) (G.Skill 4GB DDR2-6400 800) (8800GTS 512 MB) (Seagate 500GB) (Pioneer 212D DVD Burner).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 09:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paphman910 View Post
Hopefully they are referring to the Cosair HX620 Power supply! It is a quality built power supply by Seasonic.

Paphman910
what are you, a walking advertisement?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 12:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 25
Default

its a seasonic i forgot the exact one i'm using a 460 atm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 01:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brando533 View Post
its a seasonic i forgot the exact one i'm using a 460 atm.
In that case, it will be quite enough.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2010, 01:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Review Units FS. PNY 780 & 770 4GB SKYMTL Buy/Sell & Trade 855 April 11, 2014 05:27 AM
ASUS VS EVGA--GTX 470-- Does it run cooler? MittWaffle Video Cards 13 September 2, 2010 02:38 PM
HD 5850 or GTX 470 in new build (PSU enough) DirtSpider New Builds 17 August 27, 2010 07:55 PM
Koolance Releases GTX 470 & GTX 480 Full Coverage Waterblocks FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 April 9, 2010 07:34 PM
Is this PSU big enugh to run a GTX 285 2G version? Gameplaywarrior Power Supplies 3 June 22, 2009 10:53 PM