Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 09:58 PM
Canadianguy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 81
Question Pls.... help!! Looking for a more stable driver for the XFX 7600GT 256 AGP....

playing BF2.Using 163.75 and when playing tonight.Sound card XFI - ultra.Tried settings:

1024x768x85,med settings - sound stutter and jerky video.
1024x768x60 " " - same
1024x768x85,low settings - no sound stutter, smother video,but game froze.

Would it be the card or the drivers?

I had ATI x1300 Pro and was flawless with 1024x768x60 med settings.
This card has to be better then that ATI...I'm hoping!!

Suggestions appreciateed.

Thanks

The texture filtering under the control panel is set to quality,should it be set to high performance?Evrything is set pretty much to default under 3D settings

Everythings patched.

__________________
P4 - 3.0 HT
Acer 223w 22"
XFX 7600GT 256 DDR3 AGP,ATI 650HD TV
Asus - P4S800
Kingston 2G 3200 DDR
Western Digital 80G,Segate 200G
X-FI Extreme Music,Logetic X-530
Thermaltake TR2-430w
XP Pro

Last edited by Canadianguy; December 5, 2007 at 10:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2007, 09:19 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,605
Default

Sounds like a driver installation issue to me. Make sure you completely uninstall the ATI drivers (use Drivercleaner in safe mode) and uninstall the Nvidia drivers. The reinstall the Nvidia drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2007, 12:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

im also having driver issues with vista 32-bit. I can install new drivers because after the install i jsut get blackscreen so i have to go back to the stock microsoft driver, and the rendering is just horrible with those drivers, in wow the floor goes transparent
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2007, 08:57 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

ok i had trouble with my 6800 agp with the 163.xx driver. im using instead the 93.71 version which have proven with my setup ( be4 i had to rma'ed the card last week) that the 93.71 driver where more stable for serie 6 video card

maybe you could uninstall the old crap. run driver cleaner, reboot. driver cleaner in safe mode. reboot then install the 93.71 driver.

if it still dont work, i would go for a clean install. with all those driver install/uninstall windows might have corrupted file that will always make that thing failed to work properly

also if you reinstall winblows. i would try it 1st without you X-fi soudn card just in case thats the trouble.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2007, 12:15 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

sorry wish i could help but my 8800gt will be my first nvidia card in like 8 years lol, anyone know what drivers are best for it?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2007, 12:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reaverclan View Post
sorry wish i could help but my 8800gt will be my first nvidia card in like 8 years lol, anyone know what drivers are best for it?

I remember b4 I installed vista the 162's were very popular and very good drivers for xp. I'v yet to find a good nvidia driver for vista. How did u manage to get such a nice oc on an ASRock board if i may ask reaver?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2007, 01:32 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inteleron View Post
I remember b4 I installed vista the 162's were very popular and very good drivers for xp. I'v yet to find a good nvidia driver for vista. How did u manage to get such a nice oc on an ASRock board if i may ask reaver?
that u may and i explain it , but its not that anymore lol as u can see

Quote:
Originally Posted by reaverclan View Post
oh btw yes my cpu was really at 3.2 but lol left it one day and bamm i heard i swear like a gunshot and north bridge popped off lol fan had failed:( and now it wont run without being at stock speeds b4 locking up:( so that why i need new a new board, oh and it happened day after i bought 8800 gt lol (it a sign?)
now i dont do that anymore lol i had bios that my friend had made from the asrock on ver.102 i think anyway well voltages were allways fluctuating but i dint worry to much (should have) and yeah now i over clock with caution and its at stock cause my p325n e sli is in mail right now. with my 8800gt.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2007, 02:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

ahhhhh I seee lmfao. I remember clocking my ol' XP 2000+ on my KS41GX mobo with custom bios. Got upto 2.1GHz, that was siikkk back in the day.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2007, 03:04 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

lol well only got into the scene maybe 3 years ago lol
i had p2 system for like 8 years then one of the p4 all intel based systems at my moms work killed it self and it had 98 on it and then i fixed it and put xp on it and she let me keep it and well then i found my talent lol and was always on that thing making it nicer and put a 2.8 in it(god those run hot lol) and kept that till this system:)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2007, 04:11 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inteleron View Post
ahhhhh I seee lmfao. I remember clocking my ol' XP 2000+ on my KS41GX mobo with custom bios. Got upto 2.1GHz, that was siikkk back in the day.
lol My old 2000xp (unlocked, this was back in the day) wouldnt do over 2.05 but shes been happly chomping away @ 2G for years now
OP: Is it crashing in just BF2 or all 3D apps?

I had sound stutters in 2142 with my X-fi but cant for the life off me remember what I did @ the time to fix it, I think it was either the SC driver or a 2142 fix.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to buy the 7600Gt tomorrow for.... Canadianguy Video Cards 23 November 28, 2007 01:33 AM
4Ghz Q6600 Prime stable turtletrax CPU's and Motherboards 14 August 13, 2007 10:05 AM
e-vga 7600GT overheating??? ebdoradz Video Cards 2 June 27, 2007 04:52 AM
OCCT Stable 1/2 Scratch Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 April 13, 2007 03:29 AM