Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2010, 06:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default Twin Screen Blue Ray issue

hey People, new to the forum but would love some advice


Running a fresh Gaming/media system and testing it for any bugs, so far so good except for one thing...

while running twin screen setup and playing a blue ray file (on one screen) the 2ndry screen starts to jump irratically (not the screen guys, the picture )

have to turn off the screen to resolve the issue which is not a desirable outcome...

please note this only happens while playing blue ray files only.
running standard windows 7 media player

System as follows

i7 960
rampage extreme III
6 gig kingstom 2000 mhz
gigabyte 5870
twin viewsonics VG2427

Windows 7 64 bit OS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 04:46 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

HAve you try playing a game?

See what happends to the other screen.

Also Is the Card Overclocked?
What drivers?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 07:59 AM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,249

My System Specs

Smile Video Cards

The only thing I would recommend is updating your drivers. If that doesn't work, fire off an email the the gpu manufacturer. A lot of times they have a frequently asked questions thread where a number of issues are addressed. Try looking there. Good luck and let us know what the final solution is please.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 08:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default

ill try download new drivers asap but the net is being hooked up to the house its in late this week... so i wont know till friday.

games are fine, i have my performance meters reading on the second screen while playing high res games with no issue.

again i dont really understand it as the fault only happenes with BlueRay Files... nothing else.. Annoying i know

its a gigabyte 5870, not the OC version, but the standard version (which has the same componentry i believe)

no overclocking mods have been carried out as yet
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 09:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

You can't play BluRay with Media Player you need either PowerDVD, WinDVD or ArcSoft. If you talk about BluRay 'Rip' well that's another thing entirely..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 10:27 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

It doesnt matter which BR movie you have... picture still skips no matter what?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 11:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default

doesnt matter what blue ray file u play it skips Prolab..


Ryoohki..... standard media player plays blue ray 'file' just fine (obviously with the jumping issue)
i havnt tried a different media player though it seems to be related to card/driver as the file plays clearly on screen one
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2010, 12:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
It doesnt matter which BR movie you have... picture still skips no matter what?
screen 2 only jumps... which is the screen that isnt playing anything, picutre on screen one is fine

Last edited by eagle_eye; September 1, 2010 at 03:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Vertex - Lg Blue ray and sirius stiletto matsta31 Buy/Sell & Trade 18 November 2, 2009 03:35 AM
Blue Screen when Idle? HalifaxJ Troubleshooting 15 March 16, 2009 05:31 AM
THE BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH! help please! shayan288 Troubleshooting 5 October 19, 2008 01:23 AM