Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 12:48 PM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default GTX 460 768Mb vs HD4890 1GB

Basicly i have the chance to swap my HD 4890 1GB for a GTX 460 768Mb....from what i can find out the 465 768Mb is actualy a better performer than the HD 5830....so would swapping my 4890 1gb for the 460 768mb be a good deal?

Its DX11,better features...uses less power,runs cooler!

and before anyone says,get the 1gb instead...i cant,Its the 460 768mb vs 4890 please!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 12:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

The 460 is better than the 4890, but I wouldn't go for such a trade unless it did not cost u anything. Its too much of an horizontal move, but if you can do the swap for really cheap, then sure.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 12:57 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

depending on the resolutions you use/would like to use, the 1gig version might be a better buy/trade, even if its xx more expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 01:16 PM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
depending on the resolutions you use/would like to use, the 1gig version might be a better buy/trade, even if its xx more expensive.
1680 x1050 is my res :)

like i said,cant go for the 1gb model...its either the 768mb version or nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 01:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well, http://tpucdn.com/reviews/Axle/GeFor...es/perfrel.gif

but these oc pretty well soo....http://tpucdn.com/reviews/Axle/GeFor...es/perf_oc.gif
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 02:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 29
Default

I don't know a lot about the 4890 but I don't doubt it's not far off from the same performance as the 460 768mb. That particular review of the 460 768mb that _dangtx_ linked does really seem to put the 4890 on equal footing with it.

How much does your particular 4890 OC? I own the Gigabyte GTX 460 768mb and I got a 30% OC on it, from 675mhz to 875mhz (MSI Afterburner software; which allows you to overvolt too... and I've got it overvolted as much as possible (which does NOT add much heat, the HSF handles it fine at 55% speed and is still whisper quite)).

Considering your resolution of 1680*1050, you are much less in need of the extra memory and memory bandwidth that your 4890 has.

So, I am confident you will get a very slight increase in performance except in those rare cases where a game really favors ATI over Nvidia. Usually driver updates levels that out.

I agree with Kilauea that it's a fine move as long as you are spending next to nothing to do the trade.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 02:31 PM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

Well currently my 4890 is Oc,d to

850Mhz Gpu clock
975Mhz Memory

I couldnt overclock it anymore because i cant adjust the voltage anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 02:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Well, I just did a google search and found two sources citing the stock clock speeds of the 4890 as 850mhz core and 975mhz memory.

So that sounds like 0% overclock. If so, I'd definitely go for the 460 cuz you should get at least a 20-25% OC and it uses way less power, ESPECIALLY on idle which is the majority of a GPU's time, and it's whisper quite in any situation.

As long as your not trading the 4890 + gf for the 460 :P
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2010, 02:57 PM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Default

Sorry ive just noticed that my clocks got defaulted back when i changed some settings earlier....my actual stable overclock is

910Mhz core
1010Mhz memory
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 01:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 135
Default

Wow. For being two years old, the 4890 is a beast.

Bench - GPU - AnandTech :: Your Source for Hardware Analysis and News

Surprised to see the load power not being that different, although idle temps and load noise is quite noticeable.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI GTX 460 Cyclone 768MB OC Review Comment Thead SKYMTL Video Cards 6 August 22, 2010 10:43 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 1GB & GTX 460 768MB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 126 August 20, 2010 10:01 AM