Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 08:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ok so 1 year. question is, how much of a bottleneck would be your 775 cpu to gtx 460 in sli? :)

one of these days ima gonna doa cheap gtx 460 sli build to show people you dont need a 300 cpu and 400 dollar board to build a nice gaming machine
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2010, 08:19 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
ok so 1 year. question is, how much of a bottleneck would be your 775 cpu to gtx 460 in sli? :)

one of these days ima gonna doa cheap gtx 460 sli build to show people you dont need a 300 cpu and 400 dollar board to build a nice gaming machine
I highly doubt it would bottleneck at all TBH.
Only reason why I would want to upgrade to 1156 would be to get a mobo that can SLI and doesn't Overclock like shi-
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2010, 04:37 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
I actually know someone who is willing to sell me his 64gb G skill SSD for 100 bucks. The only issue I have with SSD's is their extremely low capacity to hold all my games, HD movies, and stuff like that.

If I did step up to a 470, I could also add on the SSD since I would have enough money. But I doubt I would use it as my boot drive. Right now I am running 2 500gb drives in a RAID 0 array with a 640gb for storage
Well, a SSD is just that, a BOOT drive (I'd put your OS, 2 of your most favorite games and "critical" applications on it that's all. A lot faster than your RAID 0 array. Then, you would have 2 X 500GB + 1 X 640GB for storage.

Which Gskill drive is that?

On the CPU upgrade note: 1156 is going the way of the DODO...not good. WAIT. A i5 750 would give better benchmarking scores, but in real-life testing, I doubt you'll notice. WAIT until it's worth it to upgrade again...you DON'T want to feel like your feeling right now about your GTX460...
Wait for a WOW CPU upgrade.

I use a Q9550 C1 @ 3.8GHZ and a HD5870 in my actual rig. I've been thinking about the CPU upgrade...I'm waiting for an affordable INTEL 6-cores...I keep my actual CPU/mobo until something REALLY better comes out.

Just my 2 cents BTW,
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / EVGA GTX780 ACX / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)

Last edited by Delavan; August 17, 2010 at 04:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2010, 11:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Personally, I suggest going 460 SLI. They scale very well and it's just an awesome setup (better than a GTX 480). If you spent $285 with the step-up program, then you lose your 460, which probably cost you ~$250, so you're looking at a total of ~$535 for a single GTX 480. It's not worth the extra expense considering a 480 can be found for ~$470 at Newegg.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2010, 12:08 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
Well, a SSD is just that, a BOOT drive (I'd put your OS, 2 of your most favorite games and "critical" applications on it that's all. A lot faster than your RAID 0 array. Then, you would have 2 X 500GB + 1 X 640GB for storage.

Which Gskill drive is that?

On the CPU upgrade note: 1156 is going the way of the DODO...not good. WAIT. A i5 750 would give better benchmarking scores, but in real-life testing, I doubt you'll notice. WAIT until it's worth it to upgrade again...you DON'T want to feel like your feeling right now about your GTX460...
Wait for a WOW CPU upgrade.

I use a Q9550 C1 @ 3.8GHZ and a HD5870 in my actual rig. I've been thinking about the CPU upgrade...I'm waiting for an affordable INTEL 6-cores...I keep my actual CPU/mobo until something REALLY better comes out.

Just my 2 cents BTW,
But wouldn't it mean that everything I install would go to my SSD boot drive. So basically my whole program files would be on my 64gb SSD?

With regards to which G SKill it is, I would have to ask him.

With regards to the whole CPU upgrade advice, that totally makes sense. I think i will wait another 8 months or so. Thanks.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2010, 12:14 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RockCrayfish View Post
Personally, I suggest going 460 SLI. They scale very well and it's just an awesome setup (better than a GTX 480). If you spent $285 with the step-up program, then you lose your 460, which probably cost you ~$250, so you're looking at a total of ~$535 for a single GTX 480. It's not worth the extra expense considering a 480 can be found for ~$470 at Newegg.
True but then I would also have to spend a crap load on upgrading to a new socket, because my motherboard doesn't support SLI, and I don't want to switch to a crappy LGA 775 EVGA board.

With regards to the gtx 480 being 470 bucks on newegg, it being 499 on EVGA is really the same because it is 499 plus 30 shipping and taxes USD, which comes to about 550 CAD in total. While if Newegg has it for 470 bucks, its 10 bucks for shipping so its 480 bucks, then plus tax which makes it 538 bucks, and I also have to factor in the time it takes to sell my 460, and I might not get the full price I paid.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2010, 12:18 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
But wouldn't it mean that everything I install would go to my SSD boot drive. So basically my whole program files would be on my 64gb SSD?
Uhhh, I'm guessing you've never chose the "Custom Installation" option when installing programs before? If you do you can change the path to where programs install. Not sure if you can set the default installation folder to something other than Program Files under the C: drive but it's not hard to quickly change the directory.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2010, 12:22 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
Uhhh, I'm guessing you've never chose the "Custom Installation" option when installing programs before? If you do you can change the path to where programs install. Not sure if you can set the default installation folder to something other than Program Files under the C: drive but it's not hard to quickly change the directory.
I am aware of custom installations for programs, but a while back a couple of people told me that not all programs can do that. And that I would notice a huge decrease in performance if I installed a game on a drive other than my boot drive.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2010, 12:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
I am aware of custom installations for programs, but a while back a couple of people told me that not all programs can do that. And that I would notice a huge decrease in performance if I installed a game on a drive other than my boot drive.
I don't know who told you that, but I have never had a problem installing programs to a secondary drive and I've been doing it for quite a few years. There is no performance difference from running programs off a drive that isn't your boot drive, other than the fact that load times will be limited by the drive's performance.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2010, 12:45 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
I don't know who told you that, but I have never had a problem installing programs to a secondary drive and I've been doing it for quite a few years. There is no performance difference from running programs off a drive that isn't your boot drive, other than the fact that load times will be limited by the drive's performance.
What about steam games. Doesn't steam only allow you to install all your games into one folder which is under steam in program files. Half of my steam games, would take up my whole SSD...
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[UPGRADE]Please, help me with my decision ArcherNemesis Video Cards 15 August 14, 2010 12:41 AM
Decision Decision micul Video Cards 25 June 20, 2010 08:00 PM
CRTC Decision lcdguy Reviews & Articles from the Web 9 September 30, 2009 09:29 PM
CRTC decision Inik Off Topic 64 August 23, 2009 01:59 PM
Case Decision shayan288 Cases 26 August 13, 2009 12:40 PM