Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 07:06 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,043

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lanken123 View Post
Is SC2 a lot more CPU intensive? with a e8400 @ 4.2Ghz and a stock 4870 512MB I was able to play on ultra but as soon as a large battle happens the FPS drops drastically. Even on high it still drops.
CPU usage hangs around 7% w/ a Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz HT on for me. So I wouldn't say it is all that intensive.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 10:27 PM
dooodo's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 16
Default

A Geforce 260gtx 896mb plays if perfectly in ultra.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2010, 10:33 PM
THS THS is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

GTX 460 is nice. $200 and gets you DX11 too. Also scales good with sli.

Overclocks like a beast to gtx 470 levels.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sc2 Name + Code Stark.tD Gaming 28 September 3, 2010 01:49 PM
SC2 Crashing... SneakySnake Gaming 10 August 9, 2010 03:43 PM
SC2 identifier! Inik Gaming 5 May 9, 2010 08:33 PM
1650X1080 max resolution, what card? Skyllz Video Cards 6 October 27, 2008 10:35 AM