Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 5, 2010, 10:13 PM
Rookie

Default 4890 Problems.

Hello , this is my first time posting anything on any website forum or blog area and I am sorry if i do not know the etiquette or protocols. This is my story.

My brother has a computer that is roughly a year old and pretty decent. He upgraded a GTS 250 Video card for a brand new ATI 4890 1 G GPU. The computer got passed the BIOS and proceeds to crash randomly at Desktop. The old computer's specs are irrelevant because we just went out and bought a brand new Gateway FX 1530 with everything in it. The PSU was only 500W because the 5770 that came in it is just about the most energy efficient thing known to man. We bought a 850 W PSU that runs 70 A on a single 12 V Rail Because we knew that the PSU in it wasn't enough to run a higher end GPU.

This is what we have the 4890 in

Gateway Official Site: Shop - Desktops - FX6840 03e Product Details

we have also tried this stock power supply and have tried a new 850 W PSU

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply

We Replaced the 5770 with the 4890 That he wanted to use in the first place. Then the EXACT same thing happened. Random crashes at desktop. Not TOO desktop, AT desktop. So on one of its better days we did a 3d mark 06 run and it scored in the 14k. Then worked for hours until we shut it down restarted and voila. More crashing at desktop. Can anyone help me out or have any oppinions on what to try? Oh P.S. We have Already RMA'd this card and it is STILL acting the same. We have cleaned the BIOS, We have tried old Catalyst and new Catalyst. We have tried resetting memtest and all that jazz.

This card ran for a month on a friends rig that is completely identical to the rig we upgraded from and he had no crashes.