Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 11:12 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default GTX260 sli on 6000+

Hey guys, I am actually testing a computer here but I have no idea if the sli is working good or not. The fact is that I get the same 3DM score ( around 11 000 in 2k6 ) Using one or 2 card. I was wondering if the CPU would bottleneck these card to make only 1 usable.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 11:25 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Probably a bottleneck. My 5200+ would bottleneck my 4850 in certain games.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 11:44 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

yes but you should get more. does it show sli enabled?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 11:48 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
yes but you should get more. does it show sli enabled?
Yup, Nvidia control panel and click the sli option.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 12:05 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

downclock cpu and see if it goes down. if not,drivers? :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 12:10 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Definatly a huge bottleneck here...the guy was probably under the same problem with the previous 8800GTX. Thx dan!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2010, 10:18 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 485
Default

My GTX280 seemed to be painfully bottlenecked on the x2 6000 3.1ghz ver, I switched to a x4 940be stock 3ghz and it was a big improvement.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX260 in SLI Turbo Diesel Video Cards 3 February 1, 2010 07:23 PM
[FS] AMD X2 6000+ Caldezar Buy/Sell & Trade 7 October 12, 2009 05:20 AM
EVGA gtx260+ or XFX gtx260 Black Edition Kyure Video Cards 20 February 12, 2009 11:39 AM
8800gtx sli to gtx260 ?? dukelod Video Cards 5 September 12, 2008 11:04 AM
Tri SLI, Quad SLI, SLI comparisons with 9800GTS, GX2 Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 3 March 31, 2008 02:32 PM