Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 08:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Bay ,Ont
Posts: 34
Default Embedded HDMI Connector on vid card??

Out of the loop on video cards,I've acquired an ECS 9800gt with the hdmi output on it,exactly what is it used for?First video card I've had with this output on it,was wondering how I can take advantage of it,if at all.Sorry for the stupid question,thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 08:43 AM
OmegaRED's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa , Canada
Posts: 101

My System Specs

Default

It's for outputting to an HDTV or monitor with an HDMI cable. HDMI carries audio and video whereas DVI uses just the video.
__________________
E-Penis Specs:
Coolermaster Cosmos II \\ Intel i5 2500K@4.8ghz \\ Gigabyte PA67 UD7\\ MSI Twin Frozr GTX 680 SLI \\Corsair Vengeance 8GB LP \\ Seasonic Platinum 1000W \\ X-Fi Titanium HD \\ OCZ Vertez 3 120GB \\ RAID 0 Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA6G 64MB \\ Samsung 27" 3D LED Monitor \\ Logitech G5 \\ Logitech G-15 Keyboard \\ Logitech Z-5500 \\ Sennheiser 595 \\ Windows 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 08:51 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

Except w/ your current card you need to hook up an internal SPDIF cable between your soundcard/motherboard and your videocard.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 09:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Bay ,Ont
Posts: 34
Default

Got it,thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2010, 09:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 14
Default

i'd think HDMI is the preferred choice for HDTV hookups

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Except w/ your current card you need to hook up an internal SPDIF cable between your soundcard/motherboard and your videocard.
an extra wire inside is better than an extra one outside IMHO. But Ati's solution is the bestest of em all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2010, 10:34 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,678

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by driftstang View Post
an extra wire inside is better than an extra one outside IMHO. But Ati's solution is the bestest of em all.
Fermi's resolved that forNVidia I believe. Although not relevant for the OP.

Sorry for the minor thread jack...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to upgrade my second vid card biff Video Cards 1 February 26, 2010 01:06 PM
what vid card should I get? omgwtf Video Cards 17 December 15, 2008 05:34 PM
Thinking of next vid card biff Video Cards 14 December 2, 2008 08:24 PM
new vid card cmac79 Video Cards 3 July 29, 2008 11:39 AM
which cheapo vid card? philmar Video Cards 6 May 25, 2007 03:46 AM