Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2007, 11:18 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default Poor 6800 agp performance after heatsink change

i have got from a friend a 6800AGP fot my nf2 rig in sig

i 1st ran 3dmark to compare it with my 9800pro

in 3dmark 2003 9800pro got 6600pts, 6800 got 8522pts

then i,ve unlock the pipe of the 6800 and it got 9300pts with a mild OC i was abble to achieve 9770pts but temp were in the high 80C (i know this is normal operation for those card)

i found temp a bit high so i,ve install a Zalman VF700 that was laying around

now i cant manage to get 6500pts in 3dmark. so i 1st tought that the video card wouldn't enable is 3d clock because it dont have a fan speed reading. i plug the zalman on the video card and same thing happned

i have install riva tuner and enable the OSD to see clock/temp and all

even with the zalman cooler plug into the mobo header, the card enable is 3d clock
si theirs no trouble there

but why did changing the cooler to something alot better would have been drop my score/3d performance like this?

does the card run to cold to run properly (that make no sens)

tomm i will try to reinstall the stock cooler and see if it make a diff, but damn i will have to remove those ram sink .....and buy new thermal pad .... oh well


have you guys, got an idea of what could cause this???
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2007, 11:31 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

no i don't think should cause it runs a 6600gt nicely and the board. is basically the same as the 6600 gt according to this pic:
p.s. the green in your sig burns my eyes lol
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2007, 07:29 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

thats what i thought because i had that zalman cooler on a 6600GT in my opteron rig be4 i upgrade to the x1950 and it was smooth has hell

can it be the unlucked pipe???? still make no sens since the card have already give me alot more then this ....
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2007, 06:43 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

card dying? my old x1600 pro agp gave like 10% less performance allof asudden then on on black out jsut died and my bros pc that was using it is surge protected i guess it turning uff b4 getting the kill signal fried its brain lol. now i have the cooler from it on my x1950 pro:)

Last edited by reaverclan; November 27, 2007 at 06:44 PM. Reason: now i have the cooler form it on my x1950 pro:)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2007, 10:49 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

got the card last wednesday and 5 days kater it have died???

anyway i have contact EVGA tech support. might check with my firend if he still have the invoice so we could rma that thing if its still under warranty
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2007, 10:57 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebdoradz View Post
got the card last wednesday and 5 days kater it have died???

anyway i have contact EVGA tech support. might check with my firend if he still have the invoice so we could rma that thing if its still under warranty
oh my bad.

this post made me top prospect.

Last edited by reaverclan; November 27, 2007 at 10:58 PM. Reason: yay
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2007, 09:54 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

Put the stock heatsink fan on this morning and same thing happen low 3dmark score a dn poor performance

i think i will rma the card ..... i will wait evga tech reponse to my question and if they dont find a solutions ... i will find one ;)
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2007, 11:14 AM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

k sounds like rma to me
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2007, 06:49 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

evga want to charge me 45$ for rma WTF is that???

cross shipping???? i havent complete the form since they are asking me 45$ ... any one have more info on this???
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2007, 08:50 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

damb that sucks if i buy form newegg there is 15% restock fee on doa item lol wtf buts how there prices are cheap but that 45 is just fliping crap id complain, though it isnt doa so idk does the ticking change performance maybe your same card will do the same thing i get mine of that same card on dec.10 too late for u but when i get ill tell u if it ticks lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Career Change Prof. Dr. Silver Off Topic 20 January 19, 2008 11:21 AM
-12v Rail and Poor Performance kcksteve Troubleshooting 11 September 9, 2007 09:08 PM
DOH! My poor truck cdn_Madrach Off Topic 12 April 19, 2007 01:27 PM
8800 GTX poor FPS Corpus Masochist Video Cards 5 April 18, 2007 09:38 AM
Dell nvidia 6800 - Maker?? ramrod60 Video Cards 4 March 21, 2007 12:17 AM