Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 06:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,227

My System Specs

Default

I'm in the install-over-the-old-driver crowd. I used to do the whole uninstall + Driver Sweeper / Cleaner process when getting F@H to work was crazy. If F@H makes it through a 511 point WU with the new drivers, I approve and move on to something else
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 06:54 PM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

install over top of old drivers. It's fine in Windows Vista/7
__________________
Please note: I am not here to provide official NCIX support on these forums.

For faster (and official) NCIX service please contact our customer care team at www.NCIX.com (Canada) or www.NCIXUS.com (USA)

Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=25647
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 07:25 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,631

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
I'm in the install-over-the-old-driver crowd. I used to do the whole uninstall + Driver Sweeper / Cleaner process when getting F@H to work was crazy. If F@H makes it through a 511 point WU with the new drivers, I approve and move on to something else
But there's no more 511 point WU...

I uninstall old ones, then install new ones. Every couple months, I'll use Driver Cleaner as well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2010, 09:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 45

My System Specs

Default

for ATI the official instructions tell u to just install the latest drivers over the old ones (i believe they automatically uninstall the older ones).
__________________
Desktop: 4790k @ 4.6GHZ | Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB (2x8gb) Crucial Ballistex @ CL9 | Asrock Z97 OC Formula | Gigabyte GTX 670 SLI | 250gb Samsung 840 Evo & 240gb OCZ Vertex 3 MI & 2TB WD Black | Auzentech Forte 7.1 | Seasonic 760wt Platinum | DELL U2711 @ 1440p | Corsair 300R | Win 8.1
Ultrabook: Zenbook UX32LN | i5 4200u | 8GB RAM | Nvidia 840m | IPS Matte @ 1080p | 256GB SSD | Win8.1
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2010, 10:26 AM
Smoothie's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
With Windows 7 and Vista, all you have to do is install the new version on top of the old one. I've been doing that since Vista first came out and it works perfectly for me every time.
That's what I do as well. Unless I'm upgrading to a new GPU then I do the whole uninstall in safe mood, use driver sweeper, reboot, install new driver and away I go.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI drivers won't install SneakySnake O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 November 23, 2009 06:06 AM
I am geting BSOD when ever I install Xonar dx drivers Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 June 6, 2009 06:40 PM
ultimate install closed down after install prebent O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 September 25, 2008 03:05 AM
WHich Vid drivers and how do I install them Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 14, 2008 11:56 PM
If I update drivers or install the ATI tool tray.... Canadianguy Video Cards 7 July 28, 2007 01:34 PM