Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2010, 08:32 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,489

My System Specs

Default

Interesting......

How did you have the tv set up as display? Was it cloned from the primary display or extended?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2010, 11:11 AM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Interesting......

How did you have the tv set up as display? Was it cloned from the primary display or extended?
I used the HDMI cable that came with the gtx 480 and had it displayed as clone
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2010, 11:18 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 469
Default

Clone or extended, doesn't matter. Only if you disable the second display, will clock speeds go down to idle. Pretty sure it is a known issue (if memory serves me correct). I can't say for sure, but I think my gtx 295 with dual monitors..did the same.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2010, 11:29 AM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LionRed View Post
Clone or extended, doesn't matter. Only if you disable the second display, will clock speeds go down to idle. Pretty sure it is a known issue (if memory serves me correct). I can't say for sure, but I think my gtx 295 with dual monitors..did the same.
I just unplugged it, when I want to watch movies i'll plug it back in
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2010, 03:42 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Clone or extended, doesn't matter. Only if you disable the second display, will clock speeds go down to idle. Pretty sure it is a known issue (if memory serves me correct). I can't say for sure, but I think my gtx 295 with dual monitors..did the same.
^^^ That is absolutely correct, with more than one monitor the GPU will not downclock, if the OP had of mentioned that he had two monitors hooked up to the GPU that would have twigged me and he would have saved the trouble of uninstalling / reinstalling Drivers......oh well, I believe nv is going to address this in an upcoming Driver release.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux isn't real!!! Caldezar Off Topic 27 January 16, 2010 06:01 PM
Isn't anyone else crazy enough.... Killswitch CPU's and Motherboards 25 October 19, 2008 04:45 PM
Stupid Floppy Drive isn't working?!?! bushwickbill Storage 8 August 7, 2008 05:28 PM
Say it isn't so CBC misterlarry Hockey 33 June 11, 2008 08:33 PM
AMD CEO: Intel Is a Monopoly, Microsoft Isn't Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 June 26, 2007 03:34 PM