Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 10:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 33
Default DELL E228W 22inch for HD 5970?

Hello i will in the VERY NEAR future have a computer with a HD 5970 card and a Phenom II X6 2.8 Ghz.

Will this monitor DELL E228W 22inch be enough for this? Or should i buy a new monitor?

Thanks for viewing and for the incoming replies !

The monitor is my old one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 11:07 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

The 5970 is overkill, but if you like your monitor right now then there is no point in getting a new one.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 11:12 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If you want to keep using this monitor then I would recommend stepping down to a 5850 or 5870, since a 5970 would be completely useless for that resolution. If you want to get a bigger monitor with a higher resolution, then that would be worth it, but that's something you have to decide based on your preferences.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 11:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 33
Default

The thing i am concerned about, is the resolution of the screen.

Screen = 1600 x 1200 - Widescreen

Now that the HD 5970, can GO WAY HIGHER.

EDIT : Thx for the comment above, i just think that in some months, i will purcase the monitor that will fit the HD 5970 good.

I think i will stay with the old monitor atm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 03:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 23

My System Specs

Default

You should get a kickass monitor like a Dell 3007WFP, or at least a 24" 1920x1200. Using that old monitor makes the money spent on the video card a complete waste.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 03:58 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 366

My System Specs

Default

Or get 3x24' 1080 monitors for eyefinity?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 04:23 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,231

My System Specs

Smile Video Cards

Heck, the 5970 is good enough for my HDTV. I have a Sony Bravia. It's only a 40", but this card is more than capable with that tv. Eyefinity is the way to go!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 10:10 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ Size of the screen doesn't mean "Jack" when your dealing with "TV Flatscreens"...the lines of Res are all 1080....of course a 5970 will handle "any size" 1080 screen.....its the 1920 x 1200 or 30" Native Res that starts "Stressing" the Cards....TV Screen Size is completely irrelevant.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DELL E228W 22inch with HD 5970? Alexanderrazz Display Units 0 June 28, 2010 10:10 AM
HX1000 enough for two 5970's? Rebellionelite Power Supplies 50 May 11, 2010 09:02 PM
Dell 2209WA $209 @ Dell MrDiaz Display Units 15 March 21, 2010 01:16 AM
[FS] Lg Flatron wide 22inch 3000:1 15eman Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 16, 2008 06:08 PM