Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2010, 09:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

Might be due to PCI-e scaling. One card dedicates all 16 lanes to one slot, while two cards bring it to 8x/8x. At least, I know that's how it works for some Crossfire motherboards. Don't know if the same happens for SLI.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 01:46 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hacksaw907 View Post
Might be due to PCI-e scaling. One card dedicates all 16 lanes to one slot, while two cards bring it to 8x/8x. At least, I know that's how it works for some Crossfire motherboards. Don't know if the same happens for SLI.
Shouldn't cause much of a drop in performance, infact there was an article done on here revealing just that myth.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 04:39 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
Shouldn't cause much of a drop in performance, infact there was an article done on here revealing just that myth.

in single card, yup


Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 06:34 AM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
What is your motherboard?

Adding a 260 for physx will never decrease performance except in benchmarks like vantage.
it's an ASUS P5N-D nForce 750i
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 09:56 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

Maybe it is something with the board then. With you thread about getting a new i7 one I'd wait to see if the results are replicated or not on there.
The board you have listed says it runs both slots at 16X so it can't be there.

Otherwise I have no real idea why you get the effects you do.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 10:00 AM
bvsbutthd101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 389

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Maybe it is something with the board then. With you thread about getting a new i7 one I'd wait to see if the results are replicated or not on there.
The board you have listed says it runs both slots at 16X so it can't be there.

Otherwise I have no real idea why you get the effects you do.

ST
Yea, but on monday I get my 480 so I guess it doesn't really matter
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 10:18 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

its possible, as already pointed out, that the 470 alone does a much better jobbe at the game+physx than it being primary and physx on 260...or drivers crapping on that one game?
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 04:51 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,923

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
its possible, as already pointed out, that the 470 alone does a much better jobbe at the game+physx than it being primary and physx on 260...or drivers crapping on that one game?
false unless he is running a game that doesn't use much GPU power to begin with. On Batman AA my 2 480's can reach 100% usage without physx. So adding physx will only hurt FPS more. While with the 280 I get about 1/4% usage for physx alone. I have absolutely no idea why anyone would think adding a dedicated physx card like the 260 would lower performance. I can see maybe an 8800 GT but not a 260.

There is some other problem. I would still recommend the 480 + 260 for physx if it doesn't lower performance with the new card.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2010, 05:53 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

some dude did a few tests. 8800gt to gtx 260 for physx quite the improvment. so gtx 470 or 480 doing physx on there own could be much better? or,again,drivers.lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
gtx 260 , gtx 470 , physx

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Koolance Releases GTX 470 & GTX 480 Full Coverage Waterblocks FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 April 9, 2010 07:34 PM
NVIDIA Clarifies Official GTX 480 and GTX 470 Launch Date matsta31 Press Releases & Tech News 76 March 9, 2010 01:07 AM
GTX 260 C216 good PhysX card when GTX 3 seires hits shelfs ToXic Video Cards 1 September 20, 2009 04:48 PM
[FS] EVGA GTX 260 and DangerDen GTX 280/260 full coverage water block - Price drop! Lima Buy/Sell & Trade 4 June 18, 2009 05:39 PM
GTX 260 vs. GTX 260 Core 216 performance Matt Video Cards 13 March 25, 2009 08:42 PM