Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 03:24 PM
DRZDuke's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nanaimo, B.C.
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default

Thanks, I did actually just find that in the manual :)
The way I read it though is that I'll need to put the main card 5970 in the blue (top) X16 slot and the 4650 in the other slot and that the 5970 will run at X16 and the 4650 at X8
Is that correct?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 03:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZDuke View Post
Thanks, I did actually just find that in the manual :)
The way I read it though is that I'll need to put the main card 5970 in the blue (top) X16 slot and the 4650 in the other slot and that the 5970 will run at X16 and the 4650 at X8
Is that correct?
No, that is not correct. If both slots are used, they will both run at 8x. If one slot is used, it will run at 16x. You can run either card in either slot and it will not make a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2010, 05:41 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
No, that is not correct. If both slots are used, they will both run at 8x. If one slot is used, it will run at 16x. You can run either card in either slot and it will not make a difference.

I must have looked up the board wrong, I though it was 16X/4X split.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 03:49 AM
DRZDuke's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nanaimo, B.C.
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default

So I guess the next question would be: Will adding in a second card to drive a 4th (2nd) monitor negatively impact the performance of my 5970 (4Gb) as opposed to just running the card alone at 16X ?
Will I see a big difference performance wise when it's running at 8X ?
If so, I guess I could dig around for an older PCI card which would not effect the PCIE bandwidth at all .... correct ?
BTW ... Thanks so much for the quick and intelligent responses already received, I really appreciate it :)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 07:31 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZDuke View Post
So I guess the next question would be: Will adding in a second card to drive a 4th (2nd) monitor negatively impact the performance of my 5970 (4Gb) as opposed to just running the card alone at 16X ?
Will I see a big difference performance wise when it's running at 8X ?
If so, I guess I could dig around for an older PCI card which would not effect the PCIE bandwidth at all .... correct ?
BTW ... Thanks so much for the quick and intelligent responses already received, I really appreciate it :)
Going off the top of my head I don't think with such a high powered card that running it 8x vs 16x is going to seriously impact your performance. Perhaps a few FPS but I doubt you would even notice.

The PCI-e Bandwidth restriction is based on how the slots are populated. Not the power of the card.

Someone can correct me if I'm wrong though.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2010, 07:41 AM
DRZDuke's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nanaimo, B.C.
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default

Thanks again man. Now I'll just have to see if it will physically fit .... lol .... This 5970 is a freakin monster !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd card in 16x8 fishingfanatic Video Cards 9 April 22, 2010 12:56 PM
Slower Performance after 2nd Card added?!? ipaine Video Cards 10 December 11, 2009 05:45 PM
Looking for 2nd Monitor Signal2Noise Display Units 3 September 30, 2009 09:44 PM
No 2nd monitor Phobia Troubleshooting 17 August 16, 2008 08:41 AM
2nd ATI card not recognized? 3.0charlie Troubleshooting 0 January 26, 2008 08:17 PM