Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2007, 02:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
As for the lifetime warranty with Visiontek....that is the first I have heard of it.
I'd link to their warranty info page but I can't reach their site at the moment. I imagine they must be getting hit pretty hard today. :)

They don't state it very clearly, but they have a limited lifetime warranty on all cards above a certain level.

I found a forum post last night that made it sound like Visiontek charges a $10 fee for RMA repairs, but I'm not sure how accurate that is.

For some reason Visiontek makes me think "cheaper less reliable product" but I can't remember a specific reason why I should have that opinion, could be I'm getting them mixed up with some no-name NIC maker or something.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2007, 02:40 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

All of the board partners (HIS, Daimond, Visiontek, GeCube) are receiving their cards from the same production facility. They have the option of using a non-stock heatsink and overclocking them but that is about it.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2007, 02:51 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Do they not have the "option" of their own spec PCB(i.e. layers)...or is it mostly for colour variation?
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2007, 02:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 31
Default

I suspect that even though they are all manufactured at the same facility (the Sapphire Technology plant in Dongguan), it's possible they could have them produced to different specifications, e.g. using a higher grade of capacitors, etc.

I don't know if this is the case however, just speculating.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2007, 03:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 19
Default

Nice review SKYTML. I just wondering, if you still have the card, if you could overclock the card again with the aftermarket heat sink?
__________________
CPU: AMD Phenom 2 X4 940 Black Edition
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H
RAM: 4*1GB DDR2-800 OCZ Platinum
HDD: 3*500GB + 500GB external
GPU: NVIDIA 8800GT
PSU:Corsair VX450W
Case: Corsair 800D
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2007, 04:06 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Stock.
Why wouldnt you compare the cards all at the max oc? Not really fair to show how its better at max oc vs. other cards at stock. For example I could buy an E6300 and oc it to 3.2G and it will kick a stock clocked X6800's in any bench, but the max of both would be a totally different story.

Just some feedback, dont take it negatively. :)
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2007, 04:37 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Impressive. Hopefully drivers will fix up the quirks.

That DuOrb is quite the cooler too, can't wait for a full review on it.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2007, 05:05 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Why wouldnt you compare the cards all at the max oc? Not really fair to show how its better at max oc vs. other cards at stock. For example I could buy an E6300 and oc it to 3.2G and it will kick a stock clocked X6800's in any bench, but the max of both would be a totally different story.

Just some feedback, dont take it negatively. :)
Sure it is fair. It shows better how the performance increases in relation to other cards when it is overclocked.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2007, 05:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 104
Default

Couldn't get 3870's,did get a pair of 3850's
Now I find out that Crossfire is SNAFU after I bought 3850's.

I've done some quick testing

A single 256Meg HD3850 is kicking the crap out my 512Meg X1900XT's in CF

3Dm06
HD3850 =7504
X1900XT=5387
CF3850 =8425
CF1900 =7737

The other one I did was was Lost Planet:Performance Test
HD3850 snow:51.1 caves:33.3
CF1900 snow:37.2 caves:32.0
CF3850 snow:50.8 caves:32.1
at least ATI is consistent, I had same corruption running Crossfire on either sets of cards in LP

Looks like some of the newer games I bought will more playable
Time to get back to playing( ...I mean testing)

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2007, 05:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Encruncher View Post
Couldn't get 3870's,did get a pair of 3850's
Now I find out that Crossfire is SNAFU after I bought 3850's.
Where'd you get the cards so quickly?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI HD3870 X2 1GB Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 126 June 7, 2008 07:11 AM
Thermaltake TMG A1 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Water Cooling 5 January 16, 2008 08:14 PM
Comment Thread for Thermaltake TMG ND5 Review SKYMTL Video Cards 5 October 25, 2007 05:11 AM