Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #141 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2007, 11:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

I bought the Sapphire 3870 yesterday off DC for $237 around 5:30pm, when I came back from dinner around 6:15pm it was up to $255 and today their sold out :P
Reply With Quote
  #142 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 04:52 PM
DSNB's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Halifax [Hammonds Plains]
Posts: 36
Default

And once I CF this card, what PSU (W) do you think should do the trick?
Reply With Quote
  #143 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2007, 07:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

any hi watt, or sli/crossfire certified psu from a well known company such as Enermax, or more specifically the PC Power & Cooling Silencer Quad Crossfire 750W, or the Thermaltake ToughPower W0116RU 750W Crossfire ready psu.
Reply With Quote
  #144 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2007, 09:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default I am sure its been mentioned before...

Hey there... I am sure it"s been mentioned before... But the stock cooler is perfectly fine. Using riva tuner to bump the speed to 60% the temps fall by 1/2... I run myne at 855/2.3ghz, and at 60% (although audible) the temps stick around 50c... By default however, the fan is completely silent and yes the temps get up there. When running at the speeds above, i would get VPU recovery errors. That being said, i could click ok, and resume my game 4 or 5 times before I had to reboot the system. (silly I know, but I like to see how much i can push it)
Reply With Quote
  #145 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2007, 04:32 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Are there some beta drivers somewhere that improve performance on 3850 512 somewhere? I picked one up yesterday, bout to fire it up now.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #146 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2007, 05:55 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Are there some beta drivers somewhere that improve performance on 3850 512 somewhere? I picked one up yesterday, bout to fire it up now.
Just the regular 7.11 drivers but make sure that you download all of the hotfixes and whatnot.

Also, you might want to think about OCing the card for the best performance possible.
Reply With Quote
  #147 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2007, 04:30 AM
BBF BBF is offline
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
All right. Here is what I want you to do:

Make sure you have both cards installed in the RIGHT SLOTS on your mobo and have Driver Cleaner ready to go.

...

- Install the drivers FROM THE DRIVER CD!!

...

Crossfire should now be installed and ready to use. You may have to reboot one more time.
SKYMTL, is this step still correct when getting Crossfire up and running on Vista x64 now that 7.11 and the Crysis Hofix is out?
I'm having troubles getting crossfire up and running with my Vista x64 setup... CCC in 7.11 and the crysis hotfix build both say that crossfire is enabled, but GPU-Z and 3DMark2006 say it's not. Also the performance in games shows that crossfire is not activated.
Reply With Quote
  #148 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2007, 05:41 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

It seems like alot of people are having this exact same problem with the 7.11 drivers. I would try to go back to the Btea drivers you got with your card.
Reply With Quote
  #149 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2007, 02:15 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
It seems like alot of people are having this exact same problem with the 7.11 drivers. I would try to go back to the Btea drivers you got with your card.
Hmm...my friend (who has limited internet access and is overseas atm) is having some issues (of very similar nature), although WITH the beta 8.43 drivers (from the supplied HIS 3870 driver disc).
He followed the same procedures as you have outlined below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
All right. Here is what I want you to do:

Make sure you have both cards installed in the RIGHT SLOTS on your mobo and have Driver Cleaner ready to go.

- Load up the Driver Install dialog from your driver CD

.....etc.

Crossfire should now be installed and ready to use. You may have to reboot one more time.
However, after the reboot, a BSOD occured after logging onto the desktop, stating that "atikmdag.sys" was the culprit. This is with CF enabled, as he has no such problems with CF disabled. Any thoughts?

Note that he has 2x HIS HD 3870s, Vista Ultimate 64-bit, Intel X38 mobo and 8GB (A-DATA) if that helps.

UPDATE: Seems there's a conflict with using 8GB RAM, as he says CF works fine with 2GB. Would excessive RAM even conflict with CF though?
Reply With Quote
  #150 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2007, 07:02 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

I have no idea on this one.....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI HD3870 X2 1GB Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 126 June 7, 2008 08:11 AM
Thermaltake TMG A1 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Water Cooling 5 January 16, 2008 09:14 PM
Comment Thread for Thermaltake TMG ND5 Review SKYMTL Video Cards 5 October 25, 2007 06:11 AM