Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2007, 05:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 58
Default TV tuner/Capture card

Again I'm not sure if I'm in the right place or not for this but I am looking to get a TV capture card soon and I kind of don't know where to start. I have XP Home, not media center, but I don't think Media center is really necessary. Mainly what I want to do is to be able to set my computer to tape shows on certain channels, which is probably going to be hard to do since I have Didgital cable box that dosn't have a DVR. I would also like the quality to be "good" as in equivelent to a video tape, (no grainey pictures with lots of artifacts) I'm not looking for some amazing quality High-Def recordings, although if the card did that right out of the box I could live with it. Oh and I do have PCI-E 1x slots so it dosn't have to be just PCI. Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give me.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2007, 08:26 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

Stay away from XP Media Center. It does not contain the codecs you would need to run a proper HTPC. I found that out the hard way. Vista is much more HTPC ready. You really need to spend the proper amount of money on a very good card. Anything sub $100 is gonna be crap. If you are receiving HD, you need a HD ready card to properly run and record it as well. Hauppage makes some of the best cards so I'd stick to them ot an ATI 650 based tuner card. Just don't go cheap and make sure the card comes with good software or you'll be spending alot of money on good software to make up for it.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2007, 11:16 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,327
Default

I second the Hauppage card + ATI combo that is a SWEET combo.

Instead of the Vista/media center options you may want to look into Linux's "MythTV". Heck their is even a Linux distro with MythTv all setup and ready to go for the beginner (KnoppMyth).

Here is some URLS if you are interested:
MythTV
My Settop Box
MythTV | MythTV Information and Resources
Linux.com :: Three MythTV Linux distros compared
A Beginning Look At MythTV

Good luck!
AkG
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
riva tuner lcdguy Video Cards 0 March 3, 2008 01:20 PM
Help with ODIN's Power Tuner Malam Power Supplies 18 January 9, 2008 09:22 AM
Poor picture quality from TV tuner Sharkylegbreaker HTPC Systems & Software 7 November 29, 2007 02:03 AM
TV Tuner to rec digital feed Wiked HTPC Systems & Software 4 October 14, 2007 12:40 PM
Need a good TV Tuner for an HTPC Misoprostol HTPC Systems & Software 18 May 15, 2007 01:52 PM