Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2010, 01:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default ATI 5000 series S-Video or Composite Out

I can't seem to find this information anywhere. I am building a new computer for presentation purposes, and I'd like to put 2x 5570 or 5670 in it, but the only way we can get the signal to the projector (it's ~300 ft away) right now is via s-video/composite.

I can't find anywhere if there

a) is a 5000 series card with a s-video port out (doubt it)
b) if I can use a vga > s-video adapter and get the desired result.

Anyone have any experience with the 5000 series and svideo/composite?

If it cannot, can an nVidia 200 series do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2010, 10:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnypage View Post
I can't seem to find this information anywhere. I am building a new computer for presentation purposes, and I'd like to put 2x 5570 or 5670 in it, but the only way we can get the signal to the projector (it's ~300 ft away) right now is via s-video/composite.

I can't find anywhere if there

a) is a 5000 series card with a s-video port out (doubt it)
b) if I can use a vga > s-video adapter and get the desired result.

Anyone have any experience with the 5000 series and svideo/composite?

If it cannot, can an nVidia 200 series do this?

I tried a DVI to s-video adaptor on my 5870 - no luck. I could get a signal to my tv, but nothing clear. I suspect it's because the TV has a refresh rate of 30Hz, and I couldn't get the card to go below 60Hz. I added a 3650 to my system for TV-out, and that works fine, but obviously I'm not doing anything like gaming on the TV.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2010, 11:04 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maplicito View Post
I tried a DVI to s-video adaptor on my 5870 - no luck. I could get a signal to my tv, but nothing clear. I suspect it's because the TV has a refresh rate of 30Hz, and I couldn't get the card to go below 60Hz. I added a 3650 to my system for TV-out, and that works fine, but obviously I'm not doing anything like gaming on the TV.
It won't matter too much at that res anyway. I doubt games would go that low in their resolutions with tweaking their config files.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2010, 05:08 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

ATI 5000 series no long support composite video. Even if you buy the adapter, it is only a physical socket change, and no signal can be sent. The only way I know is to use a VGA to composite converter.

For direct S-video out you can use ATI 2000 series -ATI 4000 series.

As for Nvidia series none of them work directly(I only tested on 8800-200 series).

Ohh and I even tested on an x1650pro and 9200SE AGP, they both works as long as you set it to force TV detection.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
It won't matter too much at that res anyway. I doubt games would go that low in their resolutions with tweaking their config files.
??

Last edited by Silvgearx; May 18, 2010 at 05:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 06:46 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
ATI 5000 series no long support composite video. Even if you buy the adapter, it is only a physical socket change, and no signal can be sent. The only way I know is to use a VGA to composite converter.

For direct S-video out you can use ATI 2000 series -ATI 4000 series.

As for Nvidia series none of them work directly(I only tested on 8800-200 series).

Ohh and I even tested on an x1650pro and 9200SE AGP, they both works as long as you set it to force TV detection.


??
I do have my 9500GT hooked up via composite actually, and svideo works too. The breakout cable that it comes with does that for you.

As for your question, marks, what i meant was most games these days might not support the low resolution you get with an SD signal
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2010, 04:06 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
I do have my 9500GT hooked up via composite actually, and svideo works too. The breakout cable that it comes with does that for you.

As for your question, marks, what i meant was most games these days might not support the low resolution you get with an SD signal
Well your the first time I heard someone got it working, care to share? I would love to ditch the ati and go nvidia, moar folding power .

When it comes to composite we are talking about s-video to RCA/YPbPr right. What driver did you use? Did you had to use hacked drivers?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 09:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks guys, I saw a few nvidia 9500's with a dedicated s-video out, guess those will have to work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
5670 , ati , composite , nvidia , svideo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upcoming ATI Radeon 5000 Series Refresh info [Wiki] mattlef Rumor Mill 29 February 19, 2010 09:55 AM
HD 5000 series support when? Dr_BenD_over HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 November 10, 2009 03:58 AM
ATI HD 5900 Series Video Cards Foreseen in OpenCL Update FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 10 October 16, 2009 10:21 AM
AMD ATI Launch Mid-Range HD 5700 Series Video Cards FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 October 13, 2009 11:41 AM
AMD/ATI Releases Hotfixed Drivers for 5800 Series Video Cards FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 September 29, 2009 01:11 PM