Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:11 AM
sertz's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 23

My System Specs

Default Older games to try on your shiny new card...

Just thought this would be fun, post your favorite old games and the settings you recommend playing them at with these new fangled graphics chips! Here are some of my own:

Half Life 2 - Enable Transparency Anti Aliasing and Ambient Occlusion for those with GeForce cards, makes the game look much better, an extremely clean look with deeper colours.

Doom 3 - Crank up the AA, fix your resolution to widescreen and adjust your FOV (games config.) and have a blast. The game holds up really well.

Far Cry - Yes the original. Fermi cards can get over 300fps on this now, so put on some transparency AA for that vegetation, mix in some 8xAA and you have one damn fine looking game. Oh and make sure HDR is on (console command).

These are the three obvious ones, list your own!
__________________
Rig:

Antec Three Hundred Gamer Case
Intel Core-i5 3570k at 4GHz
Asus P8Z68M-PRO
12GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
Diamond Radeon 5870 1GB
500GB Seagate HDD 64MB Cache
Silverstone 500w Silent
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 08:22 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Just tried GTA: Vice City on GTX 275 @ 2560x1600, was getting 400-700 FPS, the game was designed for Pentium III. It doesn't look bad for something that old.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 10:07 AM
sertz's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 23

My System Specs

Default

Some more to try:

Unreal Tournament 2004 - You can put any graphics settings you want on this puppy. Old engine, crank it up!

Quake III - Again, whatever you want. it looks really good with 32xAA and transparency AA mixed. You could still probably crank over 500fps with all those features enabled.

Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind - With all its graphics packs, you can approach Oblivion quality character models... Crank up the AA to 32x

Max Payne 2 - Put the AA up to 32x, put on transparency AA, and the game looks gorgeous. Holds up extremely well.

Fable PC - With 32xAA and transparency AA this game looks current gen. Very fun to mess around with.
__________________
Rig:

Antec Three Hundred Gamer Case
Intel Core-i5 3570k at 4GHz
Asus P8Z68M-PRO
12GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
Diamond Radeon 5870 1GB
500GB Seagate HDD 64MB Cache
Silverstone 500w Silent
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 10:31 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

when i had the 260 folding, i too ka break and manually tweaked the config file and such for far cry( original)

frames went from...i dont know 150 or so to 30-50 but man o man what a difference
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 04:05 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Another vote for Doom3.
I also like Quake 4 a lot.


Far Cry 1??? It was a great game, not sure if I'd bother re-installing that!

Prey could be not too bad tho!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 05:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

I tried to get battlefield 2142 working recent on my 4890, but I had more major (not network related) stutter issues :\
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 05:34 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

A bit Off-Topic, but try the cinematic mod for Half-life 2, make the game look much better.

I usually try some graphic mods for older games (Fallout 3, Half-Life 2, Witcher...) with new video card.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:06 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Original Starcraft! Can't change any kind of graphics settings for the game and it runs at a 800x600 resolution. Yeeehaw! I also find Vista/Windows 7 you have to set compatability mode to Windows 2000 and set color mode to 256 colours otherwise the colours get all inverted. Even then sometimes you have to restart the game multiple times to have it look properly. When I was running Vista I think the only way I could make it to not have the colours inverted was to make sure I have a folder open (explorer window). Very odd. It was also kind of hard on the eyes when I was using my 32" LCD while playing the game at such a low resolution.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OOOOO SHINY VisBits Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 32 March 15, 2010 09:20 PM
video card makes noise when in games sascwatch Video Cards 23 October 21, 2009 05:58 AM
oooh shiny matsta31 Storage 11 April 25, 2009 05:25 PM
shiny white tubing? magictorch Water Cooling 12 April 22, 2009 01:20 PM
It's very shiny. You might need sunglasses. crispex New Builds 89 March 19, 2009 06:40 PM