Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 03:36 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varroa View Post
There is an app you can download called "Borderlands Advance Config" that allows you to enable PhysX. There is also a reg setting you can change to do it.
Have to tried borderlands with PhysX? Can you confirm any difference in performance? How about scaling with different resolutions?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 03:47 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

I had no problems with a 5850 and 9600GT running together until I bought another 5850 for crossfire and setup an eyefinity system. I didn't bother troubleshooting to see if it was the crossfire or the eyefinity that was the root of the issue. I just decided to abort the whole PhysX hybrid setup since not too many games use it anyhow, and to me it's just not worth the aggravation. Besides, I'd rather have a powerful 3 monitor setup then something "ok" with PhysX in "some" of the games I play.

I think nVidia will end up killing themselves in that area anyhow. They're keeping the lid pretty tight on their stuff and not letting anyone else in on it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 04:40 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

I already had my physx card installed when I started playing Borderlands so I have no before/after comparisons but I know that I can play it maxed at 1680x1050 with no slow downs with physX enabled. I have a new monitor now (1920x1200) so I can try it out and see.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2010, 12:52 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Im offically going to start trying this out now, as I've recently bought both Batman and Metro 2033 (today in fact). Those two PhysX games plus Borderlands will be getting much of my attention of the near future, so the next question is: Has anyone sucessfully tried just installing the Nvidia card for Physx using the "Broken" 256 drivers? I'll be going all out with this... Eyefinity @ 5700x1200 + PhysX.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2010, 01:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i hear it works indeed. just watch your sppedfan/precision fan speeds ;)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2010, 01:39 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
i hear it works indeed. just watch your sppedfan/precision fan speeds ;)
Why? Do you think one or both cards will overheat?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2010, 01:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

no, just in case theres more borking of the speed fan profiles = dead cards
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2010, 02:02 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
no, just in case theres more borking of the speed fan profiles = dead cards
With both cards in ill probably use Rivatuner for the Nvidia card and ATI OVerdrive for the AMD video cards fan speeds.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2010, 02:17 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

sweet. just take some numbers for us with it enabled and disabled. you should see a difference. i mentioned left for dead in another thread, my frend swore for it lol. even tough it doesnt officially support physx.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2010, 09:57 AM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Default

So CM did this work for you loading the patch from the OP with your ATI card. I was about to try loading Forceware 257.15 with my GTX 260 and the latest drivers for my GPU ATI 5850. Apparently the 257.15 allows phyx to be enabled with an ATI card but the procedure isn't explained in the post I got the info from.

I'm going to give it a try right now I figure I can't to any harm. First I will try the 257.15 with the 260 without loading the patch from the first post. If it works I'll post here, otherwise I'll try the technique described in the first post and I'll post the results.
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg



Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD5870 Now or Wait JD Video Cards 22 March 3, 2010 03:40 PM
[FS] BFG 260 (216) 55nm Max Core, 8800GTS(112 SP), 8800GTS(96 SP) Apollo4g Buy/Sell & Trade 12 November 21, 2009 06:51 PM
8800gts 512mb 256bit vs 8800gts 640mb 320bit? Bdog454 Video Cards 15 June 12, 2008 07:50 PM
Gaming Shootout: HD 2900xt vs 8800gts vs 8800gts: X-Bit labs Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 12 May 29, 2007 04:08 AM
possible to run SLI with an 8800GTS 640 and an 8800GTS 320? Misoprostol Video Cards 10 May 10, 2007 09:19 PM