Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2010, 12:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 19
Default 4890 1GB Card with Q6600 - What to Upgrade To?

Hi Guys,

I have a 1GB 4890 ATI card running on my Q6600-based system @ 3.05GHz. I want few more FPS for BF:BC2 and thought a sale and upgrade would be in order, but I've been out of teh video card market for over a year, so I am not sure what I should get

What's a decent single card upgrade out there right now for my 4890 that wouldn't break le bank?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2010, 02:02 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,627

My System Specs

Default

Gaming resolution?

I recommend that you overclock your Q6600 to 3.2Ghz. The next logical upgrade would be an ATI 5850.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2010, 04:26 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

You can also overclock the 4890 too.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2010, 04:37 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

I guess your gaming on 19x12?

Most Q6600 can do 3.4ghz-3.6ghz within 1.5V and 4890s 1000mhz.

Best GPU upgrade would be a GTX 470. But that heat would be a DEADLY pair with a 65nm quad, be prepare to use those delta + san ace fans.

A 5850 would be good 20% upgrade, plus the low power consumption.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2010, 09:39 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

Sorry, to bump this thread but I have a Q6600 cpu, too. I was told a HD 5850 would be overkill and would bottleneck the processor. What do ya think?

I thought my hardware might be too outdated or ancient (DDR2 RAM, 775 cpu...) or not enough juice (HX520W) to warrant the upgrade to the 5800 series, perhaps.

Also, the 5770 is almost 2x cheaper. Comment?

Sorry, to bump the thread but just curious. I thought maybe ask here rather than start a new thread. My current GPU is in my .sig (7950 GT). Monitor and res. is 20" and 1680x1050. I don't want to invest so much in a video card if my other hardware is a bit low-power for the card. I guess I could overclock the cpu, though, but curious whether the more expensive card is a bit overkill. Perhaps, just get a cheaper 5770 card until I upgrade everything?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2010, 10:07 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

5770 is ok for 1680x1050
find a used one for 100 and spare.
your power supply is fine, look how many volts it delivers on the 12v rail ;)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2010, 11:12 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
Sorry, to bump this thread but I have a Q6600 cpu, too. I was told a HD 5850 would be overkill and would bottleneck the processor. What do ya think?

I thought my hardware might be too outdated or ancient (DDR2 RAM, 775 cpu...) or not enough juice (HX520W) to warrant the upgrade to the 5800 series, perhaps.
Dunno who told you that, the good old Quad is still kicking. Ok, at stock clocks (2.4GHz) in a game using only 2 cores, the Q6600 might be dragging it's bum, but not OCed. The Q6600 being a bottleneck? Don't think so.
Overclock to reach the 3.4 to 3.6GHz using a GOOD HSF to keep the temperature in check.

DDR2, S775 are outdated, but still alive.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2010, 11:37 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

A 5770 should be fine for your monitors res. A G0 Q6600 is usualy good for at least 1GHz above the stock clocks with proper cooling.

(I'm still on a Q6600 with a 5850 but I'm running 1920x1200)
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2010, 01:40 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
Dunno who told you that, the good old Quad is still kicking.
My buddy is using a OC'ed Q6700 with a 5870....runs great
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2010, 04:57 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
look how many volts it delivers on the 12v rail ;)
I should hope that it delivers twelve, or there could be some problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX 4890 1GB driver for Windows 7? whitelight O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 March 16, 2010 01:05 PM
Bought a 4890 1GB - How will my system do? amorak Video Cards 32 April 21, 2009 11:58 AM