Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 11:21 AM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default Eyefinity Strangeness....Aero lost...

I JUST got the adapter for eyefinity....but when I activated it I lose the "Aero" look for Windows 7 and I cannot get it back.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 11:30 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digikid View Post
I JUST got the adapter for eyefinity....but when I activated it I lose the "Aero" look for Windows 7 and I cannot get it back.

Any ideas?
Windows Vista/7 doesn't support Aero above certain resolutions - they disable it automatically I think. I know Aero turns itself off on my 3x 24'' when going to max. I'll have to try a few things to force it back on, i think there's a service that turns off that can be forced back on to max it work.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 11:37 AM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

Also L4D2 does not detect my new res? Trackmania also does not work properly. I KNOW that these games are supported.

What am I doing wrong?

I have three Samsung T240HD's at 1920 x 1200.

Last edited by Digikid; May 3, 2010 at 11:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 11:45 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digikid View Post
Also L4D2 does not detect my new res?

I have three Samsung T240HD's at 1920 x 1200.
All Valve games list custom resolutions under the 16:9 category and NOT the 16:10 one. Check there
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 02:12 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

That worked for l4d2. Thanks.

Now about the desktop behaviour....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 07:23 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 08:28 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

i run 3 monitors at 2048x1152 and i still have aero active on mine.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2010, 08:32 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

Yes but that is still considered a "low" resolution.....or medium at least.

Strange how Windows cannot do a glass effect on a higher res.

No matter anymore though.....disabled Eyefinity....made me motion sick in games.

So much for that. :(
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2010, 04:09 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,054

My System Specs

Default

When I first switched to a large display (Dell 2405FPW), I had motion sickness as well when playing HL2.
None of that on my old LCD or CRT.

Then I discovered "input lag"/display latency/lag (NOT pixel response time like 5ms GTG).

Judging from this site here, the T240HD has a boatload of it which can definitely contribute to motion sickness.

Product Face-Offs Monitors - DigitalVersus
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2010, 07:56 AM
zc1 zc1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 68
Default

I use 6024x1080 and aero is still enabled. Too bad about the motion sickness :(
__________________
My Rig
ENGINE: i7-4770k on Z87X-UD5H // Zalman CNPS12X Heat Sink // 16 GB Vengeance DDR3-1600 MHz
ECU: Win 8 Pro, Kingston HyperX 120 GB SSD
FUEL PUMP: Corsair AX1200i
HUD: Asus GTX 690 w/ 3x Asus MX279H
CHASSIS: Silverstone FT02B-W
1/4 MILE TIME: ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Voltage Strangeness... Draex Troubleshooting 9 February 15, 2010 12:39 PM
im lost Rapid-X Video Cards 4 July 24, 2007 03:42 PM
Aero glass icon and show desktop icon D1GGY O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 June 6, 2007 03:58 PM
VIA Arena on Windows Vista: Aero explained Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 3 December 16, 2006 11:41 PM