Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2010, 05:16 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,231

My System Specs

Default 2nd card in 16x8

Chassis: Coolermaster Cosmos 1000
Mobo: Asus P5E3 Deluxe
CPU: 9550 @ 3.15
Ram: 8 gigs Patriot Viper Extreme 777 20
Cooler:Chilltec Ultra piezo electric
Sound Card: Creative X Fi Fatality Champion
HDD: 2-150 Raptors; 1-300 Raptor; 1 Samsung 500
DVD: LG dvd/rw w lightscribe
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
GPU: 2 XFX HD 5970 Black Edition
OS: Dual boot system 32 bit XP pro for CADD; 64 bit Vista for everything else, mainly gaming.

What I need help with is just how much performance and/or restrictions using a 2nd card in 16x8 will give me. I will be going to a different mobo and system eventually, but want to use them in this setup until going to either AMD or Intel when an Octocore or more comes out. If I was going to do it now the Gigabyte Extreme looks good because of the 16x1 slot location and spacing for the 2nd 16x16. I had my 2 cards beside each other to test and the 2nd card hit 101C as there wasn't even 1/4" of space between them. Anyway, I think 2 cards are better than 1, but wonder how much problem bottlenecking may cause.

Please understand that I am a beginner, and have enhanced this system with better performing hardware as time and money dictated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2010, 05:21 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I'm not really sure what you are asking. Are you asking about PCIEX8 bandwidth issues?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2010, 05:52 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,231

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I'm wondering if the x8 will severely restrict performance. Sorry about not being too clear but like I said, very green and not very knowledgeable about any stuff except maybe hardware. I've been reading new builds and others to help me piece together a good system, and thanks to all the great advice on various issues on this site,I can honestly say that my rig is pretty good, from a beginners point of view.

Thanks again for all the help.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2010, 05:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishingfanatic View Post
Yeah, I'm wondering if the x8 will severely restrict performance. Sorry about not being too clear but like I said, very green and not very knowledgeable about any stuff except maybe hardware. I've been reading new builds and others to help me piece together a good system, and thanks to all the great advice on various issues on this site,I can honestly say that my rig is pretty good, from a beginners point of view.

Thanks again for all the help.

techPowerUp :: GeForce GTX 480 PCI-Express Scaling Review :: Page 24 / 25


this is for gtx480 but it should apply +- to your case as well, i think












Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2010, 06:06 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,231

My System Specs

Default

So a 2nd card in x8 doesn 't really hurt performance. Excellent, thanks alot. If anyone has any more info for me to peruse it would be greatly appreciated. If I got it right, both will operate at x8.

Btw, is there a mobo you would recommend if I was going 1366?

Last edited by fishingfanatic; April 21, 2010 at 06:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2010, 06:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishingfanatic View Post
So a 2nd card in x8 doesn 't really hurt performance. Excellent, thanks alot. If anyone has any more info for me to peruse it would be greatly appreciated. If I got it right, both will operate at x8.

Btw, is there a mobo you would recommend if I was going 1366?
EVGA has bunch of good ones and different prices.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2010, 06:41 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

with lots of gpu power the cpu will be a bottleneck at certain resolutions,i guess.

but i wouldnt necessarily invest anything right now.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2010, 07:00 PM
fishingfanatic's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamilton Ont
Posts: 1,231

My System Specs

Default

I hear ya. If the price on AMDs is as I heard and the 12 core is coming down the pipe, I would probably go that route instead of spending large for an extreme Intel. After all, if it costs $300 for a 6 core black and $1100 for a 6 core extreme, well I think most anyone would likely use the saved money for maybe crossfire,...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2010, 09:41 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^ Ultimately Intel will also likely unveil a "Mainstream" 6 Core CPU......which will be around the $300 - $400 price......Extreme CPU's are extremely priced ......
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2010, 11:56 AM
tri5cui7's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sackville, N.B.
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
^^^ Ultimately Intel will also likely unveil a "Mainstream" 6 Core CPU......which will be around the $300 - $400 price......Extreme CPU's are extremely priced ......
I haven't seen any rumors or news to indicate this :(
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slower Performance after 2nd Card added?!? ipaine Video Cards 10 December 11, 2009 04:45 PM
Looking for 2nd Monitor Signal2Noise Display Units 3 September 30, 2009 08:44 PM
No 2nd monitor Phobia Troubleshooting 17 August 16, 2008 07:41 AM
2nd new build this month yamawho New Builds 2 August 5, 2008 01:53 AM
2nd ATI card not recognized? 3.0charlie Troubleshooting 0 January 26, 2008 07:17 PM