Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2007, 04:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 18
Default Problems Overclocking.

Ok, I am using Riva to apply the clock, and ATI too to scan for artifacts.

My defaults are 513 Core and 792 Memory. I can't get past 550 and 810 without getting an artifact in the first 8 mins. Is my voltage too low? My max temp was 68 according to ati tool.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2007, 04:47 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dethredic View Post
Ok, I am using Riva to apply the clock, and ATI too to scan for artifacts.

My defaults are 513 Core and 792 Memory. I can't get past 550 and 810 without getting an artifact in the first 8 mins. Is my voltage too low? My max temp was 68 according to ati tool.
Since you can't modify the voltage of a video card with some major trouble what is the stock clocks for your card because some just don't over clock that well.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2007, 04:48 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,531

My System Specs

Default

What card is it? If it is a X1950PRO they are notorious for not overclocking much at all if any.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2007, 05:30 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Those are factory clocks for an 8800GTS, and I would normally expect to go beyond those numbers with stock voltage. Your temperatures aren't particularly high (for a GPU). Overclocking is always a bit of gamble, though, and getting things a few degrees cooler can sometimes make a significant difference.

Have you tried upping just the core clocks? Just the memory clocks? It might just be one of those things causing trouble. Beyond that, if you're bound and determined to get higher clocks, you might try a pencil voltage mod, which might buy you a few more MHz?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2007, 09:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Sorry I did forget to mention I have an XFX 8800GTS. I will try just one then jut the other. It is not a huge deal if I don't get that much out of it, I jut thought I would eb able to go higher than like 3%...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2007, 11:16 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Do you have any other fans blowing on the card? Sometimes just a few degrees can make a difference, and have a fan blowing air at/across the back of the card can help out. A lot of cases give you the option of mounting a fan in front of the GPU, to do just that.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2007, 08:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Well, I have the Antec 900, So there should be good airflow, but I don't have a fan specifically for the GPU.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFS: Pro Street Problems cujo Gaming 11 February 22, 2012 09:33 PM
Problems with Overclocking my e8400 Tumdace Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 66 March 12, 2008 02:44 AM
Big Problems Feff Troubleshooting 9 January 23, 2008 04:24 PM
Problems Overclocking with Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L DukeNukem Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 December 13, 2007 05:35 PM
More new problems! belgolas Troubleshooting 8 July 20, 2007 09:21 PM