Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 10:12 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default Weird result from AC Accelero S1 install

Hi, I have been a lurker till now, but this baffles me so I thought I would ask, thanks in advance!

I just installed an Arctic Cooling Accelero S1 with the turbo module fans option on my Diamond x1950pro and got some "too good to be true" numbers out of it.

With the stock cooler I measured temps with RivaTuner while running 3dMark06 and got:

- 50-52*C idle
- 75-80*C load

After the install of the S1 and turbo's I get:

- 29*C idle
- 37*C load

I did the tests back to back, the room is about 20*C its in and the numbers just seem way too low. Its in an Antec Sonata 3 case with a noctua 120mm exhaust fan running at 800rpm and an antec tricool set on low speed on the back of the hard drive bays. A/C freezer &pro CPU cooler, Noctua passive chipset cooler To tell you the truth all my temps seem too low:

- CPU= 27*C idle, 38*load with 10 copies of cpu burn running (not the best test, but still)
- HDD0= 25*C, HDD1= 30*C
- System is at 32-37*C only one that seems normal...

Any feedaback or ideas or just count my blessings?

Where is the temp probe on an x1950pro?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 10:20 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,605
Default

Jesus. Have you tried ATItool?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 10:37 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

Heh the accelero S1 is a good cooler that works VERY well and since you have the turbo modules it works even better. My 7900 GT was around 42 idle with a 92 mm fan attached to it so I have no doubts he would get good results.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 10:41 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

No, but I can, is it more accurate?

It just seems odd as the "stock" numbers seem bang on to what others have seen with the same/similar cards, but the "after" numbers are lower than anything Ive seen, what Video card idles at 28*???

I will try ati tool when I get home...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 10:44 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

This would be extra awesome if the damn thing would overclock, won't even take a 2Mhz bump, just craps out during 3dmark...

e6750 and 1950 pro should get more than 4800 on 3d06
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 12:42 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Well, I am completely confused, I get rediculously low temps and this rig is SILENT, like can't tell it's on silent, and it is on the table 6" from the monitor right now so it close to my ears...

I am just worried that the temps are reporting wrong and I may fry something thinking it was ice cold...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 02:21 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
Well, I am completely confused, I get rediculously low temps and this rig is SILENT, like can't tell it's on silent, and it is on the table 6" from the monitor right now so it close to my ears...

I am just worried that the temps are reporting wrong and I may fry something thinking it was ice cold...
ATI Tool, Everest, nTune all have abilities to check temps
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 03:03 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,902
Default

I'm buying this thing if the temperature drops like that..
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 04:15 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,307
Default

OMG! 9 above ambient and only 17 fully loaded.....must resist....must resist....thats enough resisting
If those numbers are accurate I GOT to get me one of those bad boys! Forget the lil "turbo" fans...zip tie a 120mm Scythe E or F to it and see how close to ambient it can really get!

Last edited by AkG; October 31, 2007 at 05:39 PM. Reason: removed "Holy Scheisse" and subbed "OMG"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2007, 06:09 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,902
Default

Hehe same here..but you know, the x-mas is coming..
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Spin up noises Cptn Vortex Storage 8 March 17, 2008 06:38 AM
Accelero S1 on 8800GT Hitikiro Air Cooling 8 December 17, 2007 07:53 PM
Arctic Accelero S1 enaberif Member Reviews 14 October 31, 2007 02:20 PM
NEED HELP with a Biostar Motherboard on Vista 64 (weird bug) db23 Troubleshooting 3 October 1, 2007 02:08 PM
Overclocking E6600, weird results dosmond Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 June 24, 2007 10:12 AM