Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 04:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Default 5970 Strange BSOD

I bought an XFX 5970 BE on around 20-12, with 3 monitors setup (3 x Dell U2410)

Currently I'm having this kind of BSOD (and with atleast 8 peoples on a blatant google query, multiple brand as well) with Bad Company 2 and Metro 2033 and Unigine's Heaven 2.0 (haven't tried Dirt 2) if:
1. Catalyst A.I is enabled AND
2. More than one monitor are hooked (it will not crash if I turn on Eyefinity aka Display Group) AND
3. Running those said application on DX11 OR
4. DX10

(For BSOD code, please look at the end of the post)

It won't BSOD if:
1. Catalyst A.I is disabled OR
2. No more than one monitor are hooked in OR
3. Running those said application on DX9
4. Play in Eyefinity (aka enable Display Group)

I'm using 10.3b CCC.

Funny thing is that I remember the problem wasn't there when I first get the card and assembled my build (which is on around 20-12-2009, was running on 9.12), I ran Unigine's Heaven 1.x fine with 3 monitors all hooked up, on DX11, Catalyst A.I is on. and both case, Eyefinity is on and Eyefinity is off.

I don't use Eyefinity however, 3 monitors are for my convenience, chatting and watching some stuff while gaming. So far I have checked around google and see that atleast 8 peoples have the very same issues with more than one monitor, multiple brand as well.

The BSOD won't happen on DX10 game (like Company of Heroes, for example)

I'm not sure if Hardware Canucks could help us to simulate a setup (using 5970 more than one monitor, on all drivers from 9.12 Win7 64 and going up from there) to see if the problem is re-producible. So far XFX, Sapphire, and AMD had NOT been willing to determine the causes.

Edit: I'm suspect that this also applies crossfire setup for 5770, 5850 and 5870 with eyefinity disabled (extended desktop)

The blue screen code is :
Code:
Driver_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

Stop: 0X000000D1 (0X0000000000000148, 0X000000000000000B, 0X0000000000000000, 0XFFFFF88004B54250)

Atipmdag.sys - Adress FFFFF88004B54250 base at FFFFF880048BF000, Datestamp 4b68f9c4
Code:
Basic System details:
Core i7 975 cooling by Corsair H58 Hydro, stock clock with TurboBoost On
Mainboard GA-X58A-UD7
12GB of G.Skill Trident @ 1806Mhz 9-9-9-24
2 x OCZ 120G Agility SSD RAID-0
4 x WD 1TB Black RAID-5
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Mounted on Corsair H800 chassis
Hooked into 3 x Dell UltraSharp U2410
Running on Windows 7 X64
All firmware and drivers and all up-to-date
System running stable 24/7 under all CPU and RAM stress test overnight

Last edited by Checkmate; April 9, 2010 at 11:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 05:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

might be the new driver. i have bsod's if i switch monitors while folding on my nv cards with ati for display
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2010, 06:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Default

I had rolled back (not a fresh install) to 9.12 but it's the same issue. I guess I might have to install it fresh and install 9.12 to see. But I'm kinda busy right now since it's the end of the semester, sigh#

Edit: 9.12 Hotfix - No BSOD. And as soon as I hit 10.3 or 10.3b, BSOD all over again. Something is up with AMD, defintely.

Catalyst_9.12_Hotfix_Win7_Vista_8.682.2RC1_Dec15

Last edited by Checkmate; April 8, 2010 at 11:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 10:00 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Checkmate View Post
I had rolled back (not a fresh install) to 9.12 but it's the same issue. I guess I might have to install it fresh and install 9.12 to see. But I'm kinda busy right now since it's the end of the semester, sigh#

Edit: 9.12 Hotfix - No BSOD. And as soon as I hit 10.3 or 10.3b, BSOD all over again. Something is up with AMD, defintely.

Catalyst_9.12_Hotfix_Win7_Vista_8.682.2RC1_Dec15
The question I have is have you installed any other programs before you noticed the BSOD?
__________________
Ivy Bridge 3770K @ 5.0 Ghz
Asus P8Z77 WS
16GB Gskil DDR3-2400
Xfx R9 290X (x2) Sapphire Tri-X 290X 6048x1200/2560x1440 @120Hz| Dell 2709W (left/right) Yamakasi Q270 Catleap 2b 120hz version (center)
OCZ Vertex 3 (x2) Raid 0 480Gb - Windows 8.1 PRO (windows 7 mockup)
Corsair Obsidian 800D | Seasonic X-1250
HeatKiller 3.0 | EK R9 290x WB (x3) | TFC Exchanger Quad Rad |Thermochill PA120.3 rad|TFC Dual rad Scythe Gentle Typhoon (x9) |Swiftech MCP655 (x2) | EK drive bay Res.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 10:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Default

PHP Code:
The question I have is have you installed any other programs before you noticed the BSOD
No. I've managed to test a completely clean install of Windows x64 (with no update, and then, fully up-to-date), 3 monitors hooked in, and Catalyst A.I on: 10.1, 10.2, 10.3a, 10.3 and 10.3b BC2, M2003, Heaven will crash. 9.12 and 9.12 Hotfixes won't crash

To cap up: DX11 supported applications (does not apply to DX10 game only, such as Crysis)
You're fine with Crossfire off, or use no more than one monitor.
Else BSOD with DX10 mode or DX11 mode, or Catalyst A.I On, or more than one monitor (doesn't matter if it's HDMI or DP)
No BSOD if you create display group (Eyefinity on)

Solution: unplugged other monitors. Or turn off Catalyst A.I (thus, effectively disable CrossFire). Or switch to DX9 (if the game allow you to do so, which is most likely). Or roll back to 9.12 hotfixes (Catalyst_9.12_Hotfix_Win7_Vista_8.682.2RC1_Dec15) . Or enable Eyefinity (create display group) and enjoy the game on all 2, or 3 monitors

AMD need to look at this

This also applies to: 5770 CrossFire, 5850 CrossFire, 5870 CrossFire.
Suspect all 5XXX on CrossFire are suffering this bug.
Data collected via Google.
It is unknown that if the 4XXX Crossfire using multiple monitor are having such issues with the latest drivers or not.

Jeez...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 12:16 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I always had a lot of problems with Crossfire and multiple monitors, it seemed to get worse with every driver release. My work around was to always disable all but one monitor before playing a game, but that renders eyefinity useless.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 01:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
disable all but one monitor before playing a game
how did you disable the other monitor without pulling the plug?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 01:55 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Just read through everything, very strange issue. Im currently using 2x 5770s in Crossfire, Cat 10.3, no issues at all playing BF:BC2 in Eyefinity @ 5600x1200 (other than i dont find it smooth enough, so i stick with 1920x1200 for that one). But still, no issues with crashing or anything like that. What DX11 titles are you using specifically that cause crashes? If i have it ill try it out on my setup.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 02:02 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Checkmate View Post
how did you disable the other monitor without pulling the plug?
CCC > Desktops and Displays > little black arrow in the corner of the display > disable

This did solve a lot of issues with 3 and 4 series cards, I never even enabled the other monitor when I tried out a pair of 5850's
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2010, 09:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Just read through everything, very strange issue. Im currently using 2x 5770s in Crossfire, Cat 10.3, no issues at all playing BF:BC2 in Eyefinity @ 5600x1200 (other than i dont find it smooth enough, so i stick with 1920x1200 for that one). But still, no issues with crashing or anything like that. What DX11 titles are you using specifically that cause crashes? If i have it ill try it out on my setup.
It does not crash if you have Eyefinity, I will fix my first post.

BSOD DX10 or DX11 in: BF:BC2. Metro 2033, Heaven 1.0, Heaven 2.0.
Not BSOD DX10 in: Company of Heroes, Crysis, Just Cause 2 (didn't have time to try other games)
I can draw a conclusion that it will only crash in applications that support DX11 mode

Can you try turn off eyefinity, making other monitor as 'extended' and try again, BF:BC2 in DX10 or DX11 load a game, or Heaven DX10 or 11, or M2033. prepare for a crash btw.

Last time it crash, I lose all BF:BC2 missions (which is the final mission), so make a backup of your BF:BC2 saves (it's in My Document) just in case. Or actually, just run Heaven in DX11 or DX10 and see...

Quote:
CCC > Desktops and Displays > little black arrow in the corner of the display > disable
Lovely, thank you. Been looking around for that setting

Last edited by Checkmate; April 9, 2010 at 09:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HX1000 enough for two 5970's? Rebellionelite Power Supplies 50 May 11, 2010 10:02 PM
[FS] XFX 5970 ontariotl Buy/Sell & Trade 16 May 2, 2010 04:33 PM
strange google CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 March 1, 2009 01:41 AM
Some strange BSODs zlojack Troubleshooting 11 September 24, 2008 12:28 PM
uh...strange problem?.. omgwtf Troubleshooting 17 December 20, 2007 03:34 PM