Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 05:03 PM
panzerfan's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 62

My System Specs

Default VGA upgrade from GTX 260 first, or CPU+mobo upgrade first?

I am thinking about upgrading from my GTX 260... I run stuff on a 1920x1080 primary and 1920x1200 secondary.


here's the thing though, I am pretty sure that my AM2 5000+ (ocd to 3GHz) is bottlenecking the card (I am trying to game at 1920x1080), and some games such at GTA4 is going to the very edge of the RAM size on the video card at high detail, which all adds up to me wanting to step up.

What I don't know is whether or not if I should jump at HD 5850/5870 single card or I should wait for another generation of cards to come out and focus on moving to DDR3 AM3 architecture. This I would like to hear opinions on if you guys would like to share. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 05:11 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Either get a 720BE or 965 Quad. You won't regret it. I had a nearly 10-20 fps jump in Singleplayer of BFBC2 from AMD 5200+ 2.9GHZ to a 720BE 2.8GHZ with my 4850.
Around 20 fps in Insurgency (Source mod).
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 05:11 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

I would focus on upgrading your cpu/mobo/ram... then get a faster videocard. Getting a faster card now would only bottleneck things further...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 05:13 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

keep the gpu and upgrade the mb/cpu
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 05:26 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I think it depends on his budget... sell the CPU for $50. A Phenom II 955 is 175$ at NCIX or Athlon II 630 is $110 @ NCIX.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 05:45 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

You should fill out the System Specs portion of the Control Panel so we know what hardware you have...
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 05:53 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

Well from the limited amount we know about your system I would say upgrade to a new mobo, cpu and ram first. Your whole system will feel faster not just in games. But we need things like the PSU to know if you need a new one or not. Both upgrading the GPU or the mobo,cpu,ram will give you a performance boost but the latter should give you more. Plus the newer GPU's just came out and the price wars have yet to start so it might be best to wait for a new GPU anyways. So I recommend upgrading the rest of the system first.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 06:10 PM
panzerfan's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 62

My System Specs

Default

Ok, there we go.

(I had a 4980 for 30 minutes. That's it, and she went dead btw...)

Thanks for the input. I was thinking of sinking about 300 buck perhaps. Basically, I am ruling out even considering going SLI due to power consumption and efficiency reason.
I guess this becomes more and more of a new build. In that case, would I benefit from getting a hexacore phenom II or the X4 would do just fine to not bottleneck 58xx card?

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 06:32 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

You just need to slap on a Phenom II X4 955 and your set. Hell you don't even need overclocking, PH II are just that good

And those gtx 260 truly comes alive at 700mhz core.

Last edited by Silvgearx; April 6, 2010 at 08:27 PM. Reason: grammar
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2010, 08:25 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if your mobo takest he newer chips go for it, altough at 3 gigs its not that bad...got enough ram for todays games(now).


id say gpu? :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] EVGA GTX 260 and DangerDen GTX 280/260 full coverage water block - Price drop! Lima Buy/Sell & Trade 4 June 18, 2009 05:39 PM
GTX 260 vs. GTX 260 Core 216 performance Matt Video Cards 13 March 25, 2009 08:42 PM
[WTB] GTX 260 216sp or GTX 260 192 sp or HD4870 1GB rom0n Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 10, 2009 03:19 PM
GTX 280 vs. GTX 260 vs. 8800 GTX review -n7- Member Reviews 11 September 27, 2008 10:00 AM
GTX 260 (216) n 260 (192) in SLI? rjbarker Video Cards 4 September 23, 2008 11:47 PM