Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 08:21 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default Testing NVidia Physics

Well I seem to have lost some or all of the physics settings in my GTX285.

Last week I was playing MW2 and was very impressed by the physics I was seeing. Leaves blowing around, and environment enhancements that I do not see while playing the same game on xbox. I had just replaced my 8800 GTS with the GTX285 I got mack on RMA and could see a significant increase of Physics properties. Almost staggering diferences.

In any case I updated my drivers to the most recent and it now seems I have lost the physics qualities that impressed me.

Is there any sure fire test to prive to me that my physics is working or has it stopped working with the recent update.

Windows 7, 32 Bit, opps need to get 64bit again.
Yes it is activated in control panel
Driver 197.13
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 09:44 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

disable or enable it and then check. if its not there, you got a problem. might want to go back to older drivers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 04:05 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

To test physx eh, go download Startales or any of those programs below and run it.

Speak Visual with Graphics Plus: Download GeForce Power Packs
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 04:17 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

MW2 Is that modern warfare 2? If it is then it does not use physx at all. Not to mention that is one of the worst games for physics in general as there basically is none.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CUDA,Physics and Havoc. Smn123 Video Cards 10 January 1, 2010 12:51 AM
PHYSICS metalcore Video Cards 6 January 18, 2009 11:49 AM
Free Havok Physics Tools Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 2, 2008 05:17 PM
One Big Step for Physics? MpG Press Releases & Tech News 18 April 15, 2008 06:51 PM