Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 09:04 AM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
If they were lying that much about this then ATI/AMD would step in to stop it. Putting words in a company's mouth is probably a very, very bad idea.
A) AMD has very little pull with most websites (that they don't support).

B) It's called satire, it's protected.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 09:08 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,940
Default

Probably falls under the parody / satire rules of the Fair Use Laws..and it IS so blatant that no one should take it seriously....and yes Malaysia has freedom of speech (WHOIS states it is reg'ed in Selangor, MY). As long as it is not seditious Malaysians are free to lampoon whomever they want.

Good idea to peeve off ATI?....depends on how big a sense of humor they have. But no, prolly not a good idea. But that hardly stops anyone these days. Look at how many sites were breaking NDA over the NV 480.

Edit NINJA'ed by MAC!
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 10:20 AM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,609

My System Specs

Default

ATI has only 1 tesselator unit, I think if they turned it off it just wouldn't work.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 10:39 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,615
Default

Patently false unfortunately.

The ATI HD 5000 series uses pretty much the same architecture that has been in place since the HD 2900 series with some modifications made along the way. As such, it has a single fixed function stage tessellator so it is either "enabled" or "disabled" but as you probably already guessed, it was never disabled...even in past series where it uses were limited.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 10:50 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: AB
Posts: 1,165
Default

Thanks for debunking this myth/urban legend/crock!
Sounded too good to be true.
Surprising that some techsites are spreading this stuff. Well, tells us a lot about the so called "tech sites"....
Thanks SKY!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.0GHz / Corsair H100i / MSI Z97A Gaming 6 / 16GB Kingston Hyper X 1.5V 1600 / MSI GTX1070 FE / Samsung 850 Evo 500gb / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage / XFX 850 watts Black Edition PSU

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 11:05 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,631
Default

from the article :

Date Revision Revision History
01-04-2010
1.0
Initial Release.


just sayin'
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 11:18 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,079
Default

Now maybe AMD should answer by actually enabling Sideport on their dual-gpu cards, lol. That'll show these guys .
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 12:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Now maybe AMD should answer by actually enabling Sideport on their dual-gpu cards, lol. That'll show these guys .
The reason they left it disabled is because it didn't provide any performance benefit and consumed more power. I'm sure they would enable it if they could actually get tangible performance increases from doing so.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 12:37 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
The reason they left it disabled is because it didn't provide any performance benefit and consumed more power. I'm sure they would enable it if they could actually get tangible performance increases from doing so.
I don't see how eliminating an in-between pci-express controller to communicate between the two cores could possibly be a bad thing... or consume more power? If anything, one less chip means less power, less latency? Possible increase in peformance, less complicated PCB design?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2010, 12:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
I don't see how eliminating an in-between pci-express controller to communicate between the two cores could possibly be a bad thing... or consume more power? If anything, one less chip means less power, less latency? Possible increase in peformance, less complicated PCB design?
Sideport isn't a replacement for the PLX chip, it's an addition to it. I remember that when the 4870X2 came out, there was talk about AMD enabling Sideport soon to improve performance, but a little while after they basically said that they weren't going to bother because it didn't help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for SKYMTL, or any other PSU wizards. Brian_L Power Supplies 17 February 3, 2010 01:52 PM
TekSavvy for SKYMTL. Need Input SKYMTL Networking 43 September 25, 2008 11:04 PM
SKYMTL A+++++ renoracer Buy/Sell & Trade 28 September 12, 2008 07:35 PM
SKYMTL is this Enough Amps for 9600GT TopDogZero Power Supplies 3 June 19, 2008 05:14 AM