Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 10:30 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default WtF (Want to Flash) 5970 ES

... But i'm slightly scared to do so, lol.

As some of you may or may not know I had some issues in the past installing recent drivers on my early-adopter, just-had-to-have-one 5970 ES (Engineering sample). I'm now convinced that the reason any driver that is newer than 9.12 will not work due to the GPU Bios(or bioses) not being recognized. It is probably a rare bios that was only used within ATI. Therefore, I think i might try to flash it. Unfortunately, I haven't flashed a GPU in a few years and am probably rusty, lol.

So, answer me these questions three:
- I've seen a windows-based ATI flashing utility that I'm unsure of, anyone have experience with it?
- Is there anyone here that has ever flashed a 5970 before?
- How does the caramel get into those dam chocolate bars?

GPU-Z screenshot:


Thanks in advance guys!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 11:51 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well well well. looks liek someone grew some.

first of all, save the original bios with a number of utilities just to be sure i na few placeS(upl to tpu if you wish as well) and then have a pci card handy.

utility wise? hmm..i might try a dos one, probably your best bet. you think the newest sapphire bios will
work with it? :)


techPowerUp! :: Video Bios Collection


techPowerUp! :: Video Bios Collection


just in case use safe clock on it, wich you will be editing manually using..hmm...radbios or soemthing..havent done it in a while myself



techPowerUp! :: Downloads


there
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 11:55 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Do you really think a newer bios will be better? Considering this card came out (i think) about 2-3 weeks before the first 5970 came out, im uncertain to say the least.

Oh, and i don't remember who i bought it from... lol
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 11:59 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

possibly. just manually edit the clocks to something low, and go tru the old bios's options and see what enabled, disabled, look at mem timings and such. itll take you a few hours total if you want to do it safely, 5 minutes if you want do do it my way.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 12:06 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
possibly. just manually edit the clocks to something low, and go tru the old bios's options and see what enabled, disabled, look at mem timings and such. itll take you a few hours total if you want to do it safely, 5 minutes if you want do do it my way.
I like the 5 minute option better, lol. But i also dont want to brick the card too...

Has no one ever flashed one before?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 12:12 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good. its just another flash. just keep a pci one handy and multiple saved backups of the original.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 03:48 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Still wishing someone with more experience would chime in, lol. I havent flashed a GPU in... ages? Made my 9800 pro into a 9800xt.... lol
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 04:15 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

pssy! :p


just do it mon
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2010, 07:18 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

I've flashed my HD5870 using ATIFlash (DOS utility). Never done a dual-GPU card, but I can't see how that would be different.

To use ATIFlash, you'll want to do atiflash -f -p 0 newbios.bin
-f is to force the flash since the new BIOS won't have a matching ID
-p 0 is to select the first adapter, assuming you only have one
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2010, 08:47 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Thx jdrom, but its the command line switches that worry me slightly about flashing, especially since there are two gpus to flash! The order of which gets flashed when might even be important? ...

again, has anyone flashed a 5970 before?

Edit:

Stupid idea: If/when I get a second 5970, and used the new one as the primary, do you think it would "just work" without the need to flash? .... I just want my dam 10.3 drivers for eyefinity BC2, lol
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HX1000 enough for two 5970's? Rebellionelite Power Supplies 50 May 11, 2010 09:02 PM
wtf do I do.... Jake_HT HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 March 28, 2009 07:10 AM
WTF!!! Dr_BenD_over Off Topic 6 December 24, 2008 07:00 PM
WTF is going on with my 8400 Gameplaywarrior Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 21 December 6, 2008 06:03 AM
WTF is this new old or not even out there. Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 8 April 25, 2008 02:36 PM