Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 11:32 AM
shaman44's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lower mainland
Posts: 22

My System Specs

Question Will my CPU bottleneck the GTX 260

Hi everybody, new member.

I have a AMD X2 4400+, 2GB RAM, 8800GT, 24 inch monitor and Windows XP.

I play games relatively efficiently, albeit not at high settings. Let's put it this way I don't know what very high looks like so I don't miss it. I am currently playing ME2 at 1900 X 1200 at medium settings and no shadows and get 40-60 fps. But Crysis Warhead kills me so I'm running at 1680X1050 minimum.

I picked up a BFG GTX260 OC from Future Shop last evening a $149.99 open box.

Can't afford upgrading at this time. But before I move things around in my case to make room for this massive card, will I notice any improvement or is it just a waste of money?

Thanks

Last edited by shaman44; March 21, 2010 at 12:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 11:35 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Definitely will se an improvement- perhaps not much on a game like GTA IV, but on most games yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 11:41 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

on lower resolutions vs an i7 yeah.

overclock your cpu to max stable speed and see what gives :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 12:49 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

I'd say that you're at the limit. I remember reading that everything BELOW a X2 4400+ would bottleneck.
So you're fine.
You will notice an improvement, that's for sure. The added RAM on the GTX260 (896mb) will help, and so the 216 cores (it's what you got right?) instead of 112 cores.

The price was decent also (BFG has lifetime warranty in Canada and the States). Make sure you visit their website in case you have to register your card for warranty purposes.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 12:53 PM
shaman44's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lower mainland
Posts: 22

My System Specs

Smile

I have this one.

http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/produ...4290420353en02

Yes its a 216 core card. Seems a good price for Vancouver.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 02:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

It depends on the game. Most FPSes should run fine, but more CPU-intensive games like RTSes, GTA4, Red Faction: Guerrilla, etc. might be a bit laggy. In any case, you should still see a nice performance improvement in just about everything.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 05:59 PM
shaman44's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lower mainland
Posts: 22

My System Specs

Smile

Finished installing. Its a beast . Luckily I have a full Tower. Still involved moving one Hard Drive to the next lower slot, since the 260 is almost 11 inches. My Antec True had two 6 pin PCI-E connectors so that was no problem. Since the card took 2 slots I had to move my Sound Card to the next PCI slot.

The A8N32SLI is an old mobo but it is sensibly constructed. I could have connected the Card in the lower PCI-E slot which would have made more sense, if it wasn't me doing the connecting. That would have ensured it out of the way of the HD Bays but I'm not removing the card again. Too much hassle.

Booted it up and play ME2 and Crysis warhead. Both are much smoother. I'm playing ME2 at 1600X1200 all eye candy on and get steady 60 fps with no jerky motion.

Crysis Warhead is more CPU limited I think. It plays at higher fps than before but still falls during heavy firefights. Still a good card for $150. Cheaper than my 3 year old 8800GT.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:32 PM
Helix's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 100

My System Specs

Default

You shouldn't have any CPU bottleneck, it'll all be GPU (except in something like GTA).

The blue line with squares is the GTX 260. It being flat indicates no change in FPS over different CPU's.
However, there are phenoms. Your results may vary.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 08:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

oh,nice board. built me buddy one several years back still kicking strong.

let us know what the fps is like :)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2010, 05:07 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
oh,nice board. built me buddy one several years back still kicking strong.

let us know what the fps is like :)
I agree those were nice MB. That's one thing when buying quality, it often pays off down the road...
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] 260 GTX , 250 GTS, CPU and others Mark One Sale MarkOne Buy/Sell & Trade 45 February 16, 2010 05:04 PM
[FS] EVGA GTX 260 and DangerDen GTX 280/260 full coverage water block - Price drop! Lima Buy/Sell & Trade 4 June 18, 2009 05:39 PM
GTX 260 vs. GTX 260 Core 216 performance Matt Video Cards 13 March 25, 2009 08:42 PM
[WTB] GTX 260 216sp or GTX 260 192 sp or HD4870 1GB rom0n Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 10, 2009 03:19 PM
Gtx 260 - 280 Cpu Bottleneck? aviduser Video Cards 5 February 4, 2009 02:34 PM