Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 08:57 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default Is just one enough?

Hey guys.

I currently have only one XFX Radeon 5850 XXX Edition and put an order through for two more P244 Acer Monitors. However I am wondering......will just one card be enough to drive it all? The games I have are as follows.

Unreal Tournament 3
Crysis Series
FEAR 2
Trackmania Nations Forever ( no worries on this one I think )

Or should I start saving my pennies and get another 5850? These monitors are all 1080p natively.....would like to keep it native if at all possible.

Good thing I got a large Tax Return coming to me.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 09:04 PM
Elton's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

It should be enough. Although if you're going to use Eyefinity, one wonders how that'll work with the bezels in the way.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 09:09 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elton View Post
It should be enough. Although if you're going to use Eyefinity, one wonders how that'll work with the bezels in the way.
I wonder how others deal with it as well.

Ah well. Live and adapt I guess. LOL!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 09:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

One should be enough for all that, at least for now. If you ever start playing more demanding games, there's nothing stopping you from picking up another 5850 in the future once they're cheaper. As for the bezel thing, recent ATI drivers added in bezel compensation, so you should be good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 09:22 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

bezel compensation? Wonder how that would work out......
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 09:25 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Head over to HardOCP if you want some more info; Kyle recently put up a video showing how to configure a new Eyefinity setup, including bezel compensation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 09:38 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

YouTube - ATI Eyefinity Bezel Compensation

I found a youtube video that explains it pretty well. Quite nice.

I iwll head over to OCP and see what they have to say as well. Thanks Zero82z!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 04:53 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

one 5850 will do the job would it be enough for me no ( but i play my games maxed on everything all the time )
edit great find thank digi
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; March 21, 2010 at 05:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 08:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

there's never enough power for crysis!

-otherwise I think yer good :P
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 12:53 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

I don't want to sound like a downer but didn't you say you just became unemployed (aka quit your job). At least to me this kind of extra expense wouldnt be something i'd spend my money on (unless you have a large sum of cash banked away) until i got another job
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes