Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 05:17 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default play game on a HDTV

hi I have a sharp with a resolution of 1920 x 1080 can I plug it on the hdmi or I have to use the dvi of my 5870 for play game

of course I want the best of it
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 06:03 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 299

My System Specs

Default

should work fine with the hdmi though some Tv's sometimes require a certain hdmi input on the tv. Example, my samsung has three hdmi input but only the hdmi 1 play's the resultion is use 1360x 768. So if you have trouble running 1080(unlikely) just try another input
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 06:41 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 3,547

My System Specs

Default

HDMI will work fine for 1080p (1920x1080). I have my TV running the same resolution from my computer (use it for watching movies) via HDMI.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 07:08 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

I am on a 4890 and it works great for me too, sound and all. Even with XP.

My TV defaulted to 1080i but, when I set the refresh rate to 60 Hz, it then started outputing 1080p.

Last edited by Lima; March 20, 2010 at 07:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 07:19 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lima View Post
My TV defaulted to 1080i but, when I set the refresh rate to 60 MHz, it then started outputing 1080p.
You mean 60Hz .
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 07:27 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
You mean 60Hz .
Yup. Thanks for pointing that out, I didn't notice.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 07:03 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 199

My System Specs

Default

Yes it work great. It's like a big monitor. I game with my PC on my projector. Make Xbox games look like PS2 :) LOL!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 08:41 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,615
Default

... does it matter either way you connect it? Hdmi just transmits sound as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 08:47 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

yup been using my hdtv for games for a long time gone from vga to dvi/hdmi know all worked just great.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 12:52 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,797

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't matter, i've transmitted through both, and actually depends on if you have the half or full dvi output too. I run dvi to hdmi with a proper dvi to hdmi cable that transmits both the audio and video over, but you can still do video dvi to hdmi as well
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Left 4 Dead game play vids misterlarry Gaming 25 November 13, 2008 09:06 AM
Far Cry 2 game play vids! Killswitch Gaming 7 October 8, 2008 02:34 PM
Let's play a game about my new build, this or that? donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 14, 2007 11:45 PM
What Game's do You Play? Supergrover Gaming 51 December 12, 2007 02:02 PM