Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 05:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 25
Default Will this card(old) work for my rig?

Will the nVidia RIVA TNT2 64 work with this rig I'm building:
  • Antec Nine Hundred Mid Tower Gamer Case 900 Atx 9 Drive Bay No Ps Top USB2.0 1394 Audio
  • ASUS P5K ATX LGA775 P35 DDR2 2PCI-E16 3PCI 1PCI-E1 SATA2 Sound GBLAN 1394 Motherboard
  • Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Quad Core Processor LGA775 Kentsfield 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 8MB Retail Box
  • Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 Cl 5-5-5-18 240PIN Memory Kit
  • Western Digital SE16 500GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB Cache 8.9MS NCQ Hard Drive OEM 3YR MFR Warranty
  • Samsung SH-S203N Black SATA DVD+RW 20X8X16 DVD-RW 20X6X16 DL18X/12X Lightscribe DVD Writer OEM W/ SW
  • Corsair CMPSU-620HX 620W ATX Triple 12V 50A 24PIN ATX Modular Power Supply 120MM Fan 2X PCI-E
  • Acer AL2216WBD 22IN Widescreen Lcd Monitor Black 1680X1050 700:1 5MS Vga DVI-D Monitor
Just thought I'd say hello too. This will be my first time building and I hope I do everything right. If you're wondering why I'm putting such an old card in, it's because I'm waiting for the new 8800 to come out. I have ordered all these parts from Direct Canada, and I want to make sure nothing arrives DOA. Is that common with this company?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 06:13 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

DOA has no relation to the company you buy the parts from.

And that card will not work b/c it doesn't support proper widescreen resolutions.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 06:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 25
Default

I see. How about an ATI Radeon X700 pro? It would go only in one slot in this motherboard, correct? Please bear with me.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 06:40 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Cheap card until you buy a 8800GT? Gigabyte GeForce 7200 GS 128MB GDDR2 PCI-E VGA DVI-I TV Out Video Card - DirectCanada.
33$. Goes in one of the two PCI-E x16 slot.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 07:46 PM
Theblackmages's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Cheap card until you buy a 8800GT? Gigabyte GeForce 7200 GS 128MB GDDR2 PCI-E VGA DVI-I TV Out Video Card - DirectCanada.
33$. Goes in one of the two PCI-E x16 slot.
yup , that should work great.My dad has that card and it runs great in his computer, I just havent tried gaming with it :P.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 08:31 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,909
Default

Depends on what kind of gamer you are :)..
I thought i saw a cheaper vid card than 33 bucks..oh well..
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2007, 09:40 PM
Amon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 719

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure that card won't work because of the voltage difference that legacy AGP uses compared to AGP Universal. There should be a warning about this in your motherboard manual. Be prepared for total meltdown should you decide to force the card into the slot and boot up.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2007, 05:58 PM
BrothaInFaith's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby, bc
Posts: 28
Default

agp or pci?
pci should work fine-ish; but i'd gladly pay $33 for a cheap 7xxx. the 7200 has my vote too
__________________
dfi bi p35-t2rl|xeon x3210@3.4ghz|evga 8800gts 320mb|2gb mushkin hp2|audigy 2zs|lian-li pcv1200|2005fpw|mx3100|promedia ultra 5.1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
omg links no work Digitaldemon Suggestions & Feedback 3 March 13, 2008 10:59 AM
Will This Work? stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 9 March 5, 2008 06:02 PM
TAT will not work. yycraven Troubleshooting 13 February 14, 2008 08:49 AM
Will this all work? Infiniti Water Cooling 11 January 8, 2008 10:50 PM
how does RMA work? vblanche CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 24, 2007 11:36 AM