Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 16, 2010, 10:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default 5870 CF fan control

I was wondering how you guys with two 5870's in CF are controlling the fan speeds on both cards. I'm currently using GPU-Z and CCC (10.2) but it acts funny. Without going into the long description I'm looking to see how others are doing it. Any suggestions would be appreciated

Old March 16, 2010, 03:07 PM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Kruzin.....I have no experience with ATI / CCC....does it not perform similar to Precision...controlling manual / pre-set speeds either individually or both "linked"? Curious as I've been entertaining the 5870's for awhile now...

Old March 16, 2010, 06:20 PM
Allstar

My System Specs

I used ATI's CCC when I had dual 4870's. I set the fan speeds on both cards and made/saved profiles. For example, I would set both cards to 30% and make a profile called "desktop". I also made a second profile called "gaming" with the fans at 45%. Another thing I would do is set up some hotkeys for activating the profiles. They make life WAY easier. I made "alt-d" for the desktop profile and "alt-g" for gaming.

BTW: Make sure that when you make the profiles that all the sections you want to change when switching to that profile are checked off in the drop down list at the bottom of the "Profiles Manager" window.
Old March 16, 2010, 06:22 PM
Banned
F@H

try overdrive? :)
Old March 16, 2010, 06:27 PM
Banned
F@H

Quote:
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr View Post
I was wondering how you guys with two 5870's in CF are controlling the fan speeds on both cards. I'm currently using GPU-Z and CCC (10.2) but it acts funny. Without going into the long description I'm looking to see how others are doing it. Any suggestions would be appreciated