Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 08:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default pc freezes p

i bought a VC and when installing it the pc freezes up take it out pc runs fine i have upgraded the psu to 28 amp and no diff is VC NFG
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 09:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Have you turned off the integrated graphics? Have you removed the old drivers and installed the new ones? What are your system specs? What video card is it? Please give details.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 10:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo' power View Post
Have you turned off the integrated graphics? Have you removed the old drivers and installed the new ones? What are your system specs? What video card is it? Please give details.
did not know i had to turn off intgrated graphics ,noone said to uninstall old drivers and install new ones ., mother board is s760xm-us .,,, and video card is a chaintech 6800 hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 11:56 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276
Default

+1 to Mo' Power. The SiS integrated graphics needs to be disabled in the BIOS.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 01:19 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

bootup linux from a cd/dvd and see if any errors occur as well(if the onboard disabling doesnt help). run something simple like 3dgears and see if theres errors
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 04:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

you also have to actually plug your monitor into the video card you're attaching, not the integrated graphics port on the back of the computer (which I assume you did)
and you definately need to install drivers - Welcome to NVIDIA - World Leader in Visual Computing Technologies

be as detailed as possible with your posts!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 05:01 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by derf View Post
i bought a VC and when installing it the pc freezes up take it out pc runs fine i have upgraded the psu to 28 amp and no diff is VC NFG

I don't mean to be an asshole or anything but....

If you expect us to take time out of our day to help you then please take the time out of your day to write a clear post.

Punctuation is necessary. Spelling is nice.

You gave no information about the PC and you upgraded to a PSU that apparently only has "28 AMP" on the side of it.

Is the PSU a SolyTech 28 amp version? Or is it a Corsair 1000HX?

etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 05:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default

well excuse me if i have errored , but as u can tell i am not a computer expert as i assumed u guys were and some of you probally are . i bought the vc from a guy here at HC and thought he might answer poll .
thank you for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 05:57 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by derf View Post
well excuse me if i have errored , but as u can tell i am not a computer expert as i assumed u guys were and some of you probally are . i bought the vc from a guy here at HC and thought he might answer poll .
thank you for your time.
nice. if you can give us more info and what you did with the troubleshooting :)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2010, 10:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

guys lets act civilized..oy st time for some cleaning up !!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Computer randomly freezes and restarts!! wingzero3002 Troubleshooting 10 December 2, 2009 10:39 PM
New build freezes up jarko Troubleshooting 16 September 30, 2009 06:24 AM
Internet freezes following connection/disconnection to BT? chouchou Networking 7 April 2, 2009 09:38 PM
Memtest Freezes appplejack RAM 2 December 22, 2008 02:05 PM
System freezes at post. DeVries CPU's and Motherboards 2 December 16, 2007 07:10 AM