Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 10:14 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,079

My System Specs

Default HD 4670 on Dell 300w psu?

My brother's friend is looking for a video card that will be an easy upgrade for him. He is currently running a stock Dell computer that is <2 years old running integrated graphics.(I am in the process of finding out the specs and will post when I get them). The only thing I know for sure is that it is a 300w PSU. From what I have read online there are some people saying that they have run a 4670 on a Dell 300w psu and that it has no problems. Supposedly dell PSU are not too bad. As of right now he is not wanting to do a PSU upgrade and likely only needs a 4670 for a video card IMO, since he ONLY PLAYS WOW.

What's your opinion on the 4670 for WOW?
What's your thought on the 4670 on a dell 300w PSU?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 11:10 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,582
Default

yeah I think 300w would be borderline fine for a 4670. you can't reeaaallllyyy go much higher then that though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 12:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

It would be enough.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 12:43 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Should be fine. I think I've got a friend running the same card on a similar PSU. However, if he wants to go any higher he'll REALLY need a new PSU.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 12:58 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 299

My System Specs

Default

i'd bet a 5670 would work as well, think they're around 62 watts at max load

but i'm no expert!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 01:56 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,079

My System Specs

Default

Seems to be a pretty one way vote for its fine to run the hd 4670 on that psu. Any other opinions or people that have run the setup? Or anyone see any problems with the 4670 for WOW?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb

Last edited by Bond007; March 7, 2010 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 02:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,582
Default

WOW doens't take much GPU power at all. I know people that run it just run on integrated graphics. I also know a guuy that runs it on an 8600 gt very decently. the 4670 should be able to handle WOW just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 02:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,418

My System Specs

Default

Ran my 4670 on a 305w sparkle with no issues.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 02:38 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

give us the p/n and rating. some of those dell(delta) psu's are not bad at all.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 02:42 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

my friend is running a 4670 on one of those dell psu's you should be fine.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
are these the same 4670's? johnnyblazzwa Video Cards 24 January 28, 2010 06:21 PM
[WTT] Dell Dimension 2400 for midtower atx/psu. freeloader1969 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 14, 2009 10:23 PM
Upgrade to 4670? Digital_fx3 Video Cards 6 February 28, 2009 01:54 PM
Hd 4670 vs hd 3870 Burkdaddy Video Cards 12 November 30, 2008 08:18 PM