Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2010, 11:28 PM
zc1 zc1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 68
Default Sapphire Radeon HD5750 Vapor-X Crossfire

I finally got around to actually testing out the 5750s in Need For Speed Shift (with various graphics settings) rather than just enjoying playing the game.

My System:

-Processor: Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.57 GHz
-Memory: 8GB Mushkin Blackline PC2-8500 @ 1060 MHz
-Graphics: 2x Sapphire Radeon HD5750 Vapor-X 1GB GDDR5 in crossfire setup; fan speed set to 70%
-Display: 3x SyncMaster 2243

The cards were run @ stock settings, first:

STOCK Settings:
-GPU Clock
: 710 MHz
-Memory Clock: 1160 MHz (4640 MHz effective)

I then overclocked the cards to see if that changed anything:

Overclock #1
-GPU Clock
: 870 MHz
-Memory Clock: 1160 MHz (4640 MHz effective)

Overclock #2
-GPU Clock
: 870 MHz
-Memory Clock: 1255 MHz (5020 MHz effective)

Here are the results (FPS) as per FRAPS. I didn't log anything. Max FPS is the maximum on the FRAPS real-time display. I was only half-playing the game...and spending a fair deal of the time mowing the track-side lawn, actually...and primarily focusing on the FPS display. Average FPSs given are my impressions of where the frame rate tended to spend the most time.


1. 710x1160 (i.e. stock)

-5760x1080, 0xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: 30 FPS max (24-30 FPS avg)

When [H]ard|OCP tested a single card, they had all settings to low and the game was *just playable*, with framerates around 30FPS; their setup was i7 920 @ 3.6 GHz -- AMD Radeon HD 5750 - AMD's ATI Radeon Eyefinity Performance Review | [H]ard|OCP

2. 870x1160 (i.e. overclock #1)

-5760x1080, 0xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: 35 FPS max (33-35 FPS avg)
-5760x1080, 4xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: 27 FPS max (26-27 FPS avg)
-5760x1080, 8xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: Unplayable

-4800x900, 0xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: 48 FPS max (46-48 FPS avg)
-4800x900, 4xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: 36 FPS max (33-35 FPS avg)
-4800x900, 8xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: 32 FPS max (28 FPS avg)

-1920x1080, 0xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: 60 FPS max (60 FPS avg)
-1920x1080, 8xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: 60 FPS max (55-57 FPS avg)

3. 870x1255 (i.e. overclock #2)

-5760x1080, 0xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: 34 FPS max (30-34 FPS avg)
-5760x1080, 4xAA; all settings otherwise MAX: 27 FPS max (23-27 FPS avg)

Overclock #2 didn't add anything, so I've dialed back to the overclock #1 settings. Although the quality of the graphics was great in 1920x1080, I gladly gave up the superior graphics quality for the wider view offered in 5760x1080. 4800x900 is a nice middle ground, with lots of screen real-estate, while allowing me to run 8xAA and still get almost 30FPS.

Some people have commented about micro-stutter problems with crossifire, but I didn't run into any of that except when I kept ATI Catalyst Control Centre open on top of the game window.

I'm very happy with this setup. The Q6600 and 2xHD5750 allows me to run NFSS with Eyefinity enabled, with almost maximal settings and still get a reasonable framerate. It's not a monster setup like a 58xx and 59xx, but for my purposes it does the job and was less expensive than a single 58xx card.

There don't seem to be many user reports regarding the 5750, so I just figured I would give a bit of info about my experience so far.

A photo of my desktop:

__________________
My Rig
ENGINE: i7-4770k on Z87X-UD5H // Zalman CNPS12X Heat Sink // 16 GB Vengeance DDR3-1600 MHz
ECU: Win 8 Pro, Kingston HyperX 120 GB SSD
FUEL PUMP: Corsair AX1200i
HUD: Asus GTX 690 w/ 3x Asus MX279H
CHASSIS: Silverstone FT02B-W
1/4 MILE TIME: ?

Last edited by zc1; March 7, 2010 at 09:59 AM. Reason: Added 4800x900, 4xAA data; Added title above photo
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 08:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brampton,Ontario
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

Is that your view using 3 monitors?If it is it looks pretty amazing.
All we need now is a motion controlled chair that hooks up
to our computer.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 09:12 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

I don't know...I've found that even a 5870 is insufficient to run some games smoothly at max quality with just TWO monitors, yet here you are running THREE monitors with a 5750. How do you tolerate the reduced graphics?
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 09:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,915

My System Specs

Default

Nice setup, and nice results.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 09:36 AM
zc1 zc1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by puroman1 View Post
Is that your view using 3 monitors?If it is it looks pretty amazing.
All we need now is a motion controlled chair that hooks up
to our computer.
Yup, that's my desktop. The wires are cleaned up now (longer DVI cables). When a reasonably-priced pneumatic gaming chair becomes available I'll definitely put that on the "to buy" list, lol. I saw the YouTube video of the guy who made his own -- very cool.
__________________
My Rig
ENGINE: i7-4770k on Z87X-UD5H // Zalman CNPS12X Heat Sink // 16 GB Vengeance DDR3-1600 MHz
ECU: Win 8 Pro, Kingston HyperX 120 GB SSD
FUEL PUMP: Corsair AX1200i
HUD: Asus GTX 690 w/ 3x Asus MX279H
CHASSIS: Silverstone FT02B-W
1/4 MILE TIME: ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 09:46 AM
zc1 zc1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oversized Rooster View Post
I don't know...I've found that even a 5870 is insufficient to run some games smoothly at max quality with just TWO monitors, yet here you are running THREE monitors with a 5750. How do you tolerate the reduced graphics?
I guess it's my cross to bear So dramatic! I'm willing to "tolerate" less than maximal settings in my gaming. It's really not that big of a deal. I'm sure you "tolerate" things that are less than utopian in other areas of your life, if not in your gaming. If I want to max out all settings then I can use one monitor, but I prefer the experience/view with three. 8xAA and higher frame rates were nice at 1920x1080 but, for me, the extra real-estate easily trumps the quality difference. Different strokes for different folks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
Nice setup, and nice results.
Thanks Bond007. I just figured I would share since it seems that not all that many people post about their experiences with non-high-end cards.
__________________
My Rig
ENGINE: i7-4770k on Z87X-UD5H // Zalman CNPS12X Heat Sink // 16 GB Vengeance DDR3-1600 MHz
ECU: Win 8 Pro, Kingston HyperX 120 GB SSD
FUEL PUMP: Corsair AX1200i
HUD: Asus GTX 690 w/ 3x Asus MX279H
CHASSIS: Silverstone FT02B-W
1/4 MILE TIME: ?

Last edited by zc1; March 7, 2010 at 09:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 10:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brampton,Ontario
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

Don't worry once you guys get to my age high resolutions are not a priority
as your eyesight goes down and you need glasses.My son always has his computer
turned up max but I have the resolution lower so i can read,lol.I think I will break
down and go with a three monitor setup and see my son drool.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 11:07 AM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oversized Rooster View Post
I don't know...I've found that even a 5870 is insufficient to run some games smoothly at max quality with just TWO monitors, yet here you are running THREE monitors with a 5750. How do you tolerate the reduced graphics?
To be fair he's using 2 5750s, but I agree to some extent. That said, dropping AA and maybe some textures wouldn't look that much worse and often boosts performance by a LOT.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 03:32 PM
CoolHandL's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VANcouver
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default

I've been looking for this post for months!(any post from people who have 2x5750's)! thanks. I just picked up my second Vapor X 5750, I also have the Q6600, only 6GB of Ram though, and only one 24" monitor for gamming.
I do have the option to add 2 x 20" dell 2009W's (i have one and can buy one from work) to the set up, which i will do one i get some more desk space.. thanks for confirming my rational for purchasing another 5750, and that being it would be worth it.

Thanks ZC1!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2010, 07:06 PM
zc1 zc1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 68
Default

You're welcome! If you turn off vsync the FPS gets even better. Those numbers are with vsync turned on. 5750s run great in crossfire.
__________________
My Rig
ENGINE: i7-4770k on Z87X-UD5H // Zalman CNPS12X Heat Sink // 16 GB Vengeance DDR3-1600 MHz
ECU: Win 8 Pro, Kingston HyperX 120 GB SSD
FUEL PUMP: Corsair AX1200i
HUD: Asus GTX 690 w/ 3x Asus MX279H
CHASSIS: Silverstone FT02B-W
1/4 MILE TIME: ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sapphire Radeon HD5570 1GB DDR3 Single & Crossfire Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 16 February 9, 2010 06:53 PM
Sapphire Radeon HD 4670 Crossfire Review @ TweakTown BALISTX Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 September 12, 2008 11:41 AM