Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 09:27 AM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,728
Default

oh? How so? This will be my first Crossfire setup.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 10:00 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,412

My System Specs

Default

Having to disable CF all the time for games that don't work with CF and folding, then having to re-enable it for games that do, then disabling so you can fold again. That's the biggest pain by far.

The last time round (4770's) I couldn't get 2 displays to work in CF under Vista no matter which of the ports I used. If I enabled CF, it would disable one monitor, if I went in and re-enabled the monitor, CF would get disabled. It DID work correctly at one time though as it did work for my 2 CF setups before that, although it took hours to get it functional the first time with my 3870's.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 05:07 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,511

My System Specs

Default

+1 5850...don't choose crossfire if you have the money for a better card now. Crossfire (in my books anyway) is an add on when you need more later.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2010, 06:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brampton,Ontario
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

5850 and in the future you can crossfire if it to slow.I did croosfire a whilr back with 2
3750s and i prefer 1 video card as its neater and quieter that 2 cards and used less
power.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2010, 09:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 33
Default

5850... But not from XFX. I don't trust them with making an ATI board since the 4890 debacle. I would get Sapphire, Asus or MSi.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2010, 09:26 AM
MrDiaz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 576

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by test tube View Post
5850... But not from XFX. I don't trust them with making an ATI board since the 4890 debacle. I would get Sapphire, Asus or MSi.
Can't beat double lifetime warranty!
__________________
-- Viva Canada! --
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 09:13 AM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,728
Default

And I would not trust MSI with ANYTHING, Sapphire is okay but not good IMHO, and ASUS...well....never had one of their cards.

I just ordered this card here.

NCIX.com - Buy XFX Radeon HD 5850 XXX Edition 755MHZ 1GB GDDR5 4.5GHZ 2XDVI HDMI Display Port PCI-E Video Card - HD585AZNDC In Canada.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sapphire HD 5850 1GB HD 5770 1GB Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 25 February 3, 2010 09:19 AM
5870 or 5850? Or 5770? And when? Maplicito Video Cards 14 January 2, 2010 09:40 PM
Temperatures: HD 5770 vs HD 5850? jwebby Video Cards 11 October 23, 2009 04:49 PM
I need help deciding. encorp CPU's and Motherboards 16 March 13, 2009 12:07 AM