Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 08:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default Video cards, motherboards, PCI-E 2.0? OH MY! HALP!

Hey there!

I had a computer built for me back in Dec of 2008, which came with two ATI RADEON 4850s (512 mb). The rest of my system is fairly good, but I'm having some performance issues which I believe is coming from the video cards I'm using, since my current game of choice (Darkfall) doesn't support Crossfire. I'm looking to order a single card to replace them, but I think I may have have a motherboard issue. I'm looking at a ATI card, and was thinking about a RADEON 5870 (1 gb) to use.

I downloaded and ran CPU-Z to find out the exact model of motherboard I have. It is a MICRO-STAR INTERNATION MS-7376 1.0, with a Chipset of AMD 790FX (rev. 00), Southbridge ATI SB600, and LPCIO Fintek F71882F. Under Graphics Interface, it shows PCI-Express, with a Link Width and Max. Supported of x16 for both. I did a few google searches, and some of them said that most PCI-E 2.0 cards can work with a 1.0 Motherboard, while others said the video card would be capped out by the motherboard beyond a certain point of performance.

Should I purchase that card on the hopes it will work? Do PCI-E 2.0 cards work well with 1.0 motherboards? Is the motherboard I have a 1.0 or greater? Failing that, could anyone recommend a better single card that would play well with my motherboard?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 09:14 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

If that PCIE 1.0 runs at X16 no problem for single card. Crossfire 5870 on PCIE 1.0 would be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2010, 11:38 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Your motherboard uses the 790FX chipset, and therefore supports PCI-E 2.0.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 12:00 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

And depending on your resolution, the HD5850 may suffice, and save you some money.

I'd definitely want to ensure you have a good, solid PSU if you're going with a HD5850/70 as well.

Also your CPU may be a bottleneck as well, so maybe if you give us a full rundown of your system, we could give you some advice on the best way to spend your money.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 11:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
And depending on your resolution, the HD5850 may suffice, and save you some money.

I'd definitely want to ensure you have a good, solid PSU if you're going with a HD5850/70 as well.

Also your CPU may be a bottleneck as well, so maybe if you give us a full rundown of your system, we could give you some advice on the best way to spend your money.
5ILVgeARX and Zero82z, thanks for the confirmation, that's a huge relief I won't have to basically start from the ground up =)

jdrom17, my system specs are as follows:

MOTHERBOARD: MICRO-STAR INTERNATION MS-7376 1.0
PROCESSOR: AMD Phenom X4 9850, 2.5 gHz Quad-Core
RAM: 8 gb of DDR2 (PC2-6400 400 MHz)
VIDEO CARDS: 2x ATI RADEON 4850 (512 mb) x2, Crossfire
PSU: 950 wat, unsure of brand (the old 650 PSU I had burnt out trying to run both RADEON 4850s, so when I had it replaced I made sure the PSU would be able to handle it--so far, so good).

I am currently running two 22" LG Flattron W2242TQ Monitors, which have a max resolution of 1650x1050. At some point this year, I am planning on upgrading at least one of them to 24".

I think I am going with a 5870 for the most power possible, as recently I've been putting my cards through some fairly intense situations (online battles with 500+ players all throwing different coloured particles everywhere :(), so I'm thinking that I may as well go with the best I can afford.

I also read that the 5870 runs fairly cool, which will be great after losing several 4850s to overheating.

Thanks again for the feedback!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 03:27 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

I'd really consider buying a Phenom II X4. That CPU is rather slow, and will most likely hold back the HD5870.

Also, I'd keep your dual 22s as you'll be able to run EyeFinity, and scale your games across both of them. However that won't work if the monitors are different resolutions.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 04:08 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 956

My System Specs

Default

I have to agree with jdrom.That chip is going to hold back the true potential of that card. Hell I thought a phenom 955 @ 3.9ghz was still holding it back.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 04:29 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,146

My System Specs

Default

another option: consider a 5850 (to save a few $) and grab an x4 955 (check the MSI website to see if your motherboard supports phenom II processors).

Or you could always just grab the 5850/70 and try it out. If you are getting acceptable fps leave the CPU as is.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 06:38 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

His board seems to support any AM2/AM2+/AM3 CPU, probably needs a BIOS update though.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 07:02 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

So that board is a MSI K9A2 Platinum. Thats a pretty solid setup you got, so instead of buy a new gpu, why not try to get the CPU to clock at 2.8ghz-3.0ghz?

Darkfall doesn't seem to be that graphic hungry, even for a single 4850.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] PCI-E AND AGP CARDS _dangtx_ Buy/Sell & Trade 54 July 16, 2009 09:13 AM
WTB NEED Want to add to my farm ,need pci express video cards elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 October 28, 2008 02:41 PM
WTB PCI-E Video card with Video out Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 9, 2008 09:17 PM
Has anyone tried Xfire + Physics Card...3x pci-e cards. qwerty Video Cards 5 November 5, 2007 04:46 PM
24 ATI Radeon PCI-E Video Cards Benchmarked by Legit Reviews Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 9 March 30, 2007 06:12 AM