Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 09:39 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

Just threw it out; it probably was something different, but for all I knew it was some rare scenario. Worth a shot. Honestly I've never heard of anything like that. My 5770's running fine on the 10.1 drivers. I don't know exactly what's causing the crash and for how long you can use it before it does, but you might try going to the 9.12 drivers (they're nearly identical to the 10.1s) and see if that works. All else fails, just go back to the 9.11s for a few weeks until the 10.2s come out. Those are supposed to be a real update, and they may have fixed whatever problem you're experiencing for them.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 05:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Thanks
I'll wait for the 10.2's. Will I have to uninstall the 10.1 or will it properly update?
Thanks
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 12:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMJim View Post
Thanks
I'll wait for the 10.2's. Will I have to uninstall the 10.1 or will it properly update?
Thanks
Jim
google drivercleaner pro. Awesome tool for completely removing drivers. I use it every time when switching drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 08:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Thanks for the driver cleaner pro advice. There seems to be a couple of good cleaners out there. Driver sweeper from 3Dguru was recommended to me as well but I haven't used either. The 10.1 driver is causing a few issues that seem to be related to controls that shut off the monitor in the power management and/or screen saver features of Win 7-64. If I set the monitor to go off automatically in a specific amount of time it sometimes doesn't come back on at all. Sometimes the screen is dark but other times I get light green or light gray vertical bars. My only choice is to hit the off button and I don't like doing that too much either. Why is it that these companies release products only to have us as guinea pigs to solve the issues? Instead of fighting with this crap I should take it back to the store and tell them to stick it but it's not the stores fault. I should have listened to my conscience instead of the sales kid and stuck with Nvidia. I've had good luck with them all along but then again I haven't bought a video card for about 5 years. Are they all the same now?
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64

Last edited by GMJim; February 12, 2010 at 08:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 08:13 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

always download new drivers never use the ones that come in the box. they put drivers in the box that just get the card working ( first drivers that support it )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 11:37 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

The driver that came with my card was 9.11. I didn't even take it out of the package. After some thought and a cruise around some forums, I went directly to Sapphire's site which directed me to AMD's drivers. From there I choose the 10.1 Suite expecting to be allowed to do a custom load however the ONLY choices I was given was to load the ATI Catalyst control center and something called Folding@home.

Turns out F@H is a link to a web site. Folding@home - Main

I'm not completely dis-satisfied, I'm just pissed that I have to play the what's the best driver thing over and over when I buy a new card. These problems I'm having aren't with sophisticated new games but they're with the OS's simple features (I think!)
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 04:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
Default

I'm having the same issue with my Sapphire HD5750 keeps locking up on me doing the most simple thing.
I tried the 10.1 drivers but it locked up solid went back to the previous version which allows me to surf the internet but hangs up for no reason. Not sure if I should RMA it and try an Nvidia card or something different.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 06:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 161

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RB racing View Post
I'm having the same issue with my Sapphire HD5750 keeps locking up on me doing the most simple thing.
I tried the 10.1 drivers but it locked up solid went back to the previous version which allows me to surf the internet but hangs up for no reason. Not sure if I should RMA it and try an Nvidia card or something different.
Try the latest 10.2 drivers to see if the issues been fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 08:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
Default

Just installed the 10.2 drivers took a couple of tries as it crashed twice trying to install. Third time it installed.

Ran a performance test and it seems to crash(did recover) during the 2D vectors, once at solid vectors and once at transparent plus it scores low on complex. The rest of the 2D seems o.k. and 3D scores well?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2010, 09:46 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

My issues seem to be resolved with the 10.2's.
Thanks for the help.
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus 5770 card Olorin Video Cards 36 January 4, 2010 07:47 AM
Quick: 4890 or 5770? CroSsFiRe2009 Video Cards 12 December 29, 2009 07:32 PM
XFX 5770 Unknownm Video Cards 10 December 28, 2009 10:48 PM
Radeon 5770 V2 models Fudd Rucker Video Cards 0 December 17, 2009 01:04 PM
Temperatures: HD 5770 vs HD 5850? jwebby Video Cards 11 October 23, 2009 04:49 PM