Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 07:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default did i just my 8800gt with static?

so i was installing it just to see how it fits in my new case as im installing fans, and i felt a small static shock go into the card and my processor doesnt come in till next week, is it broken most likely?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 07:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If the discharge had a high enough voltage that you were able to feel it, then there is a possibility that you accidentally the whole thing. But the only way to know for sure would be if you actually went and tested it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2010, 09:32 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,222

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuziwk View Post
so i was installing it just to see how it fits in my new case as im installing fans, and i felt a small static shock go into the card and my processor doesnt come in till next week, is it broken most likely?
Most likely???

No.

Very few discrete components these days are overly sensitive to ESD (electro static discharge), and even less so once they are installed in a circuit.

It's possible, but I wouldn't worry about it until you get a chance to test it.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 09:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Most likely???

No.

Very few discrete components these days are overly sensitive to ESD (electro static discharge), and even less so once they are installed in a circuit.

It's possible, but I wouldn't worry about it until you get a chance to test it.

i bought a 775 celeron to test it out as i dont have my quad yet, its all good still works.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 10:36 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Most likely???

No.

Very few discrete components these days are overly sensitive to ESD (electro static discharge), and even less so once they are installed in a circuit.

It's possible, but I wouldn't worry about it until you get a chance to test it.
As Mr Wilson stated very unlikely.....I never use static discharge protection, other than grounding myself prior to starting to work on my Rig, Ive had a couple of static discharge incidents with no ill effects. The first time it happened I thought "uh oh"...but no worries.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2010, 12:34 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i say 50/50 chance if its intense. i always wear gloves. not one incident since :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2010, 12:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
i say 50/50 chance if its intense. i always wear gloves. not one incident since :)
What kind of gloves? That most likely is not helping at all, and may even be counterproductive since many types of gloves are more prone to static charge buildup than your body is.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2010, 01:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

anti-static gloves?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2010, 07:39 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

No gloves here....sipping beer though.. ;)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2010, 07:47 PM
aCid888*'s Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Englander lost in Montreal.
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

A bit of wire fell onto a pair of 6600GTs I was benching at the time and made the card spark and shut the rig down...they still lived.


I wouldn't worry about it.
__________________
Hers (pInky):
945ES @ 3.92GHz (1.5v) - Lapped Fuzion v1
MCP-355/XSPC Top + Black Ice Extreme 360
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX (MX-2 NB + SB)
2x2GB G.Skill Pi Black @ 900MHz 444-12
PNY "XLR8" 9800GX2 @ 704/2202/1760
Seagate 500GB + XP SP3
22" Acer P223w @ 1680x1050
Modded Lian Li PC-60F
SB Audigy 2 w/ Heatsink

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] 8800GT @80, Koolance 8800GT waterblock, XFX680i LT @70, ATI 1900XTX, AMD Opteron 144 pakultra Buy/Sell & Trade 12 January 28, 2009 08:42 PM
Acrylic case EMI/static discharge concerns serenity Cases 8 October 9, 2008 11:06 PM
Setting Static IP in Vista 64 not being saved vintank Networking 4 July 15, 2008 11:37 AM
Anti Static Devices? tgraszat14 Troubleshooting 18 February 6, 2008 06:14 PM
Static In My Sound? kcksteve Audio 7 August 31, 2007 10:49 AM